• About the exhibition
  • Scope Basel

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Peter Demetz

      Peter Demetz' light wood carved works are snapshots of everyday situations, without describing stories or actions. The stage-like embedding of the protagonists in display cases creates timeless silence and contrasting sensations of infinity and freedom versus determinism and social constraint. The scenes are composed of distance and proximity of the figures and of the architectural elements. The viewer is invited to ascribe to the artist's figures emotions and thoughts as well es to their settings past and future.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar's paper sculptures mostly hang, floating in the air. They seem light and delicate, however they show a strong sculptural presence. Terforation is the title of Angela Glajcar's cubic pieces. The staggered arrangement of the vertically hung series of sheets of white paper, with torn edges, produces cave-like recessions. These extend into the depth of the sculpture. The sharp ridges and deep caverns evoke associations with glacial or rock formations while light and shadow fall on the surface of the sheets, enlivening the interior of the oblong structure. The viewer is led into fascinating rooms of harmony and silence.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marra’s abstract works remain truly fascinating due to their surprising change of form and colour. Each of his multi-perspective paintings contains several more pictures which reveal themselves by circling around the canvas. Step by step the spectator is drawn into a vivid and dynamic kaleidoscope of shape and colour. Marra’s art is a surprising experience of unique visual and dimensional effects. This painter has come to his very own style reflecting and redefining the techniques of Op-art and Orphism.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Salustiano

      The main theme of Spanish artist Salustiano is the portrait. Highly aesthetically, the artist plays with the viewer's eye which he opposes and exposes the fascinating impenetrable glances of the characters he portrayes. Often in about 60 layers of paint he is carving out the facial features of his partly androgynous protagonists acting in finest precision. These are always placed against a plain or white background and seem – devoting themselves in almost manic peculiarity to mental or physical actions - isolated from the outside world. The intellectual immersion or instinctive decisiveness and power of the portrayed persons, wether they are delicate, young girls or boys, is strongly noticeable.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Aldo Cristofaro

      Aldo Cristofaro considers himself “a collector of his visible and audible surroundings”. Strolling through the modern metropolis he is inspired by patterns on the street or graffiti art on the walls. His abstract works transfer musical sounds and visual impressions of modern city life into painting. Cristofaro’s energetic and intensely colourful compositions convey vigour, ardour and set the imagination free. The Sicilian born artist lives and works in Berlin.

      Marco Casentini

      Marco Casentini explores in his work spatial dynamics of color, texture and shape. He is inspired by designs of urban space and reflects geometrical and architectural questions. By decoding environments and urban structures that he perceives immediately, he deconstructs and interprets designs of architects, engineers and town planners. Casentinis use of radiant, bright or strong colors is stimulated by southern Californian or Mexican paintings of houses and dematerializes their architectural surfaces.

• Über die Ausstellung
  • Scope Basel

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Peter Demetz

      Peter Demetz' geschnitzte Inszenierungen aus hellem Holz sind Momentaufnahmen alltäglicher Situationen, ohne jedoch Geschichten oder Handlungen zu beschreiben. Durch die bühnenhafte Einbettung der ProtagonistInnen in Schaukästen wird zeitlose Stille erzeugt und ein kontrastreiches Empfinden von Unendlichkeit und Freiheit versus Determination und gesellschaftlichem Zwang hervorgerufen. Die Szenen leben von der Distanz und der Nähe der Figuren und der architektonischen Elemente zueinander. Der Betrachter ist eingeladen, den Figuren des Künstlers Emotionen und Gedanken und den Settings Vorangegangenes und Bevorstehendes zuzuschreiben.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar verbindet Gegensätze. Ihre Papierskulpturen schweben frei im Raum oder bilden massive Blöcke. Sie wirken vom Material her leicht und zart, zeigen aber eine starke skulpturale Präsenz. Terforation nennt Angela Glajcar die Kuben aus weißen Papieren. Ihre streng geometrische Form wird aufgebrochen durch gerissene Kanten oder verschieden große Öffnungen. Durch die Staffelung der Papiere entstehen Hohlräume von einer enormen räumlichen Tiefe. Licht und Schatten machen diese lebendig. Assoziationen an gezackte Grate und das Innere tiefer Höhlen, an Gletscher- oder Felsformationen werden wach. Der Betrachter taucht ein in faszinierende Räume von vollkommener Harmonie und Ruhe.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marras abstrakte Arbeiten üben durch ihren verblüffenden Wandel von Form und Farbe eine außergewöhnliche Faszination aus. Jedes seiner multi-perspektivischen Gemälde enthält stets mehrere Bilder, die sich als ein lebendiges, bewegtes Kaleidoskop mit jedem Schritt verändern. Marras Kunst wird zum überraschenden Erlebnis, indem sie uns einzigartige visuelle und räumliche Effekte erfahren lässt. Der Maler hat zu einem ganz eigenen Stil gefunden, der die Techniken von Op-Art und Orphismus reflektiert und durch neue Varianten erweitert.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Salustiano

      Die Hauptthematik des spanischen Künstlers Salustiano ist das Portrait. Mit hoher ästhetischer Fertigkeit spielt der Künstler mit dem Auge des Betrachters, welchem er die faszinierend undurchdringlichen Blicke der von ihm portraitierten Charaktere gegenüberstellt und aussetzt. In oftmals über 60 Farbschichten arbeitet er die Gesichtszüge seiner teils androgyn wirkenden Protagonisten in feinster Präzision heraus. Diese sind stets vor einem einfarbigen oder weißen Hintergrund platziert und wirken - in beinahe manischer Eigenheit sich einem Vorgang geistiger oder physischer Art hingebend - von der Außenwelt getrennt und isoliert. Die mentale Versenkung oder auch instinktive Entschlossenheit und Kraft der Porträtieren, seien es auch zarte, junge Mädchen oder Buben, wird eindringlich spürbar.

      The main theme of Spanish artist Salustiano is the portrait. Highly aesthetically, the artist plays with the viewer's eye which he opposes and exposes the fascinating impenetrable glances of the characters he portrayes. Often in about 60 layers of paint he is carving out the facial features of his partly androgynous protagonists acting in finest precision. These are always placed against a plain or white background and seem – devoting themselves in almost manic peculiarity to mental or physical actions - isolated from the outside world. The intellectual immersion or instinctive decisiveness and power of the portrayed persons, wether they are delicate, young girls or boys, is strongly noticeable.

      El trabajo de Salustiano se centra ante todo en el retrato. Con un acabado extremadamente minucioso y estético, juega el artista con la propia mirada del espectador, la cual enfrenta con la penetrante casi desafiante mirada de sus retratados. Sus obras tienen de media unas 60 capas de pintura acrílica, que usa de fondo. De esta base va extrayendo con pintura al óleo los rasgos faciales de sus retratados, los cuales poseen muchas veces rasgos andróginos. El fondo monocromo, normalmente rojo, negro, blanco o rosa, hace que destaquen sus figuras dotándola de un aura genuina, aislándolas del mundo exterior. Salustiano, a su vez, juega con la mirada de sus retratados que miran muchas veces directamente al espectador, entrando en un dialogo directo con el público.

      Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Aldo Cristofaro

      Aldo Cristofaro bezeichnet sich selbst als "Sammler seiner visuellen und audiellen Umgebung". Auf stundenlangen Streifzügen durch Berlin lässt er sich inspirieren von Mustern auf dem Asphalt oder Graffiti-Spuren an den Mauern. Seine informellen Arbeiten übersetzen musikalische Klänge und visuelle Eindrücke vom modernen Großstadtleben in die Malerei. Das Ergebnis sind farbgewaltige und energiegeladene Kompositionen, die die Imagination beflügeln. Der auf Sizilien geborene Künstler lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

      Marco Casentini

      Marco Casentini erkundet in seiner Arbeit räumliche Dynamiken von Farbe, Textur und Form. Seine von der Gestaltung des städtischen Raums inspirierten Werke spiegeln sein Interesse an Geometrie sowie Architektur und eröffnen dem Betrachter mit ihrer leuchtenden, hellen Farbpalette die Stimmung der lebendigen Häuseranstriche Südkaliforniens und Mexikos. Er dekodiert die architektonischen Oberflächen und das, was er unmittelbar wahrnimmt – das kann zum Beispiel eine Achterbahn sein –, indem er die Entwürfe von ArchitektInnen, IngenieurInnen und StadtplanerInnen dekonstruiert und neu interpretiert. Monochromatische Werke, die Casentini aus seinen europäischen Erfahrungen generiert, weisen dunklere Farben mit ihren Variationen im Farbton auf.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Peter Demetz, Angela Glajcar, Antonio Marra, Yoshiyuki Miura, Salustiano, Moto Waganari, Aldo Cristofaro, Marco Casentini