• Schwingung des Lichts (Vibration of light)
  • About the exhibition
  • Schwingung des Lichts (Vibration of light)

    On Friday, June 18, 2021 from 4 to 9 pm, we will open the new exhibition SCHWINGUNG DES LICHTS (Vibration of light) at Heitsch Gallery with new works by Christiane Grimm and Roland Helmer.

    The "vibration of light" is crucial for the design of space by means of color. Christiane Grimm and Roland Helmer have been working with this concept for several decades. What unites both artists is the implementation of this idea in artworks and objects that oscillate between the two- and three-dimensional. The Heidelberg artist Christiane Grimm creates mostly square objects with prisms made of glass. As a trained architect, she constructs an artificial space in which light is caught, broken through and transformed into a dynamic play of colors and their reflections. Color has also been the center of the artistic work of Roland Helmer, the old master of concrete painting from Munich, since the 1960s. His late work indicates a preference for relief-like surfaces, for these intensify the dynamics from the effect of color and the perspective of the viewer. The incidence of light on the artwork determines the vibration of the surfaces and turns them into a moving image. Light and the subtle vibration of color in space create for the viewer a multi-layered perspectivity at the limits of visual perception.

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Christiane Grimm

      Christiane Grimm creates objects with different layers of glass and other materials which are arranged in such a manner, that the incoming light creates an almost holographic effect. Grimm experiments with the potential of color and with the brightening in subtle transitions. They are poetic constructs and illusionistic architectures out of clear, seemingly floating plains – achromatic and chromatic. The arrangement of the different elements makes it hardly possible to locate them perspectively within space. Moreover there are irritating optical effects which make it even more difficult to grasp Grimm's artworks which can be located somewhere between painting, sculpture and architecture.

      Roland Helmer

      Since the 60s, Roland Helmer develops his constructive and concrete work with the utmost consequence. His abstract-geometric early work shows clear forms, quiet areas and is limited to a maximum of 7 or 8 bright colors. The variety of shapes is reduced in later work on narrow and wide lines in a vertical and horizontal screen layout. The color palette expands on certain issues by blends and underpainting with white and black.

Artworks of the exhibition

With works by Christiane Grimm, Roland Helmer

• Schwingung des Lichts
  • Über die Ausstellung
  • Schwingung des Lichts

    Am Freitag, den 18. Juni 2021 von 16 bis 21 Uhr, eröffnen wir die neue Ausstellung SCHWINGUNG DES LICHTS in der Heitsch Gallery mit neuen Werken von Christiane Grimm und Roland Helmer.

    Die „Schwingung des Lichts“ ist maßgebend für die Gestaltung von Raum mittels der Farbe. Mit diesem Konzept beschäftigen sich Christiane Grimm und Roland Helmer schon seit mehreren Jahrzehnten. Was beide Künstler vereint ist die Umsetzung dieses Gedankens in Kunstwerke und Objekte, die zwischen dem Zwei- und Dreidimensionalen schwanken. Die Heidelberger Künstlerin Christiane Grimm kreiert meist viereckige Objekte mit Prismen aus Glas. Als studierte Architektin konstruiert sie einen künstlichen Raum, in dem das Licht aufgefangen, durchbrochen und umgewandelt wird in ein dynamisches Spiel aus Farben und ihren Reflektionen. Die Farbe ist auch für den Münchner Altmeister der konkreten Malerei Roland Helmer seit den 1960er Jahren das Zentrum seiner künstlerischen Arbeit. Sein Spätwerk weist auf eine Vorliebe für reliefartige Oberflächen hin, denn diese verstärken die Dynamik aus Farbenwirkung und Perspektive des Betrachters. Der Lichteinfall auf das Kunstwerk bestimmt die Vibration der Oberflächen und macht sie zu einem bewegten Bild. Licht und die subtile Schwingung von Farbe im Raum erzeugen für den Betrachter eine vielschichtige Multiperspektivität im Grenzbereich von visueller Wahrnehmung.

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Christiane Grimm

      Christiane Grimm gestaltet ihre Bildobjekte meist als Räume aus verschiedenen Gläsern und Materialien, die sie so anordnet, dass die Durchbrechung des einen durch das andere eine kalkulierte und zugleich vitale Bildwelt erzeugt. Es sind poetische Gebilde und Scheinarchitekturen aus lichten, schwebenden Flächen – unbunt oder farbig. Die Anordnung der einzelnen Elemente unterwandert jeden Versuch einer eindeutigen perspektivischen Zuordnung. Zusätzlich irritieren optische Effekte die räumliche Wahrnehmung und kreieren ein offenes Feld zwischen Malerei, Plastik und Architektur.

      Roland Helmer

      Seit den 60er Jahren entwickelt Roland Helmer seine konstruktiv- konkreten Arbeiten mit größter Konsequenz. Sein abstrakt- geometrisches Frühwerk zeigt klare Formen, ruhige Flächen und beschränkt sich auf maximal 7 oder 8 leuchtende Farben. Die Formenvielfalt reduziert sich im Spätwerk auf schmale und breite Linien in einem senkrechten und waagrechten Bildaufbau. Die Farbpalette erweitert sich bei bestimmten Themen durch Abmischungen und Untermalungen mit weiß und schwarz.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Christiane Grimm, Roland Helmer