• Modern Sculpture
  • About the exhibition
  • Modern Sculpture

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Anke Eilergerhard

      Anke Eilergerhard masters the art of seduction. From silicone she creates cake-like sculptures which bewitch our senses with their voluptuous shapes and creamy surfaces. With her baroque KITCHENPLASTICS the Berlin-based artist questions clichés on femininity and occupies an unique artistic position.

      Marc Fromm

      Marc Fromm‘s carved reliefs and sculptures refelct the values of our every day culture. The artist introduces contemporary topics using the elaborate techniques of old mastery wood craft. Traditional religious altar scenes are reinterpreted as modern billboards just like former religious assurance is replaced by the promised land of advertising. Marc Fromm reveals the stereotypes of the advertisement industry and unmasks the fake glamour of today‘s commercialized products.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Matej Košir

      Matej Košir is a master of illusion. His laboratory is the image archive of art history. Crossing the genres of art he transforms the still lifes of famous old masters into sculptures and reproduces them by the modern medium of photography. Now, which one is the original and which one the copy? The Slovenian artist questions how we perceive and deal with those masterpieces in the age of mass media and mass reproduction - and he reveals how icons of art history become sickly-sweet fetishes.

• Über die Ausstellung
  • Modern Sculpture

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Anke Eilergerhard

      Anke Eilergerhard versteht es mit ihren fantastisch, absurden KITCHENPLASTICS unsere Seh-, Tast- und Geschmackssinne auf irritierende Art zu erregen. Die Berliner Künstlerin hinterfragt mit ihren üppigen Silikon-Objekten weibliche Klischees und besetzt mit ihren puristisch barocken Figuren eine einzigartige künstlerische Position. Ihre Werke springen ob ihrer waghalsigen Kompositionen oder ihrer taktil- und oft farbintensiv ausgestalteten Oberflächen sofort ins Auge. Denn ihr Thema ist Schönheit und alles was mit diesem höchst fragilen Phänomen assoziiert wird - Begierde, Liebe, Luxus, Übermaß, Verfall, Lust, Maßlosigkeit und Täuschung.

      Anke Eilergerhard masters the art of seduction. From silicone she creates cake-like sculptures which bewitch our senses with their voluptuous shapes and creamy surfaces. With her baroque KITCHENPLASTICS the Berlin-based artist questions clichés on femininity and occupies an unique artistic position.

      Marc Fromm

      Marc Fromms geschnitzte Reliefbilder und Skulpturen reflektieren Ausschnitte unserer täglichen Gegenwartskultur. Dabei setzt er sich mit den Werten und Qualitäten unserer Zeit
      auseinander. Der Künstler verarbeitet zeitgenössische Motive mit der Technik und Brillianz traditioneller, altmeisterlicher Schnitzkunst. Kirchliche Altartafeln deutet er zu modernen Werbetafeln um und ersetzt die religiösen Verheißungen durch die Versprechungen der Hochglanzmagazine. Marc Fromm thematisiert den heiligen Schein der Konsumwelt und demaskiert die Werbe-Klischees unserer Zeit.

      Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Matej Košir

      Matej Košir ist ein Meister der Täuschung. Sein Labor ist das Bildarchiv der Kunstgeschichte. Als Grenzgänger der Kunstgattungen baut er die gemalten Stillleben bekannter Altmeister als Skulpturen nach, um sie anschließend in das moderne Medium der Fotografie zu übertragen. Was ist nun Original und was Reproduktion? Der slowenische Künstler hinterfragt unseren Umgang mit kunsthistorischen Meisterwerken im Zeitalter massenmedialer Reproduzierbarkeit. Und zeigt wie Ikonen der Kunstgeschichte zum zuckersüßen Fetisch werden.

      Matej Košir is a master of illusion. His laboratory is the image archive of art history. Crossing the genres of art he transforms the still lifes of famous old masters into sculptures and reproduces them by the modern medium of photography. Now, which one is the original and which one the copy? The Slovenian artist questions how we perceive and deal with those masterpieces in the age of mass media and mass reproduction - and he reveals how icons of art history become sickly-sweet fetishes.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Anke Eilergerhard, Marc Fromm, Moto Waganari, Yoshiyuki Miura, Matej Košir