• Masters of Light
  • About the exhibition
  • Masters of Light

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Peter Demetz

      Peter Demetz' light wood carved works are snapshots of everyday situations, without describing stories or actions. The stage-like embedding of the protagonists in display cases creates timeless silence and contrasting sensations of infinity and freedom versus determinism and social constraint. The scenes are composed of distance and proximity of the figures and of the architectural elements. The viewer is invited to ascribe to the artist's figures emotions and thoughts as well es to their settings past and future.

      Hans Kotter

      In Hans Kotter´s light objects consisting of filigree, reflecting glass volumes that generate a special aura of their own due to their superior material quality and precision, the approaching viewer is compelled by a mysterious and forceful attraction, which gradually develops into a deep rapture. As if by magic, the reflecting surfaces of the light object are transformed – when the source of light at the objectʼs centre is switched on – into an enchanting tunnel of colours, the end of which is unforeseeable.
      But it is a game with illusion, with the apparently endless, constantly surprising and astonishing ways to stage light and colour artistically. This extremely aesthetic and simultaneously mysterious interplay of reflecting surfaces and endless colour compositions propels the viewer into a rapture of colour and depth from which he has no desire to recover quickly.

      Christiane Grimm

      Christiane Grimm creates objects with different layers of glass and other materials which are arranged in such a manner, that the incoming light creates an almost holographic effect. Grimm experiments with the potential of color and with the brightening in subtle transitions. They are poetic constructs and illusionistic architectures out of clear, seemingly floating plains – achromatic and chromatic. The arrangement of the different elements makes it hardly possible to locate them perspectively within space. Moreover there are irritating optical effects which make it even more difficult to grasp Grimm's artworks which can be located somewhere between painting, sculpture and architecture.

      Marck

      The video sculptures by Swiss artist MARCK are more than a simple combination of video and sculpture: They are a logic consequence of his extensive examination with films and videos, multimedia based projects, performances, music and sculptural as well as kinetic objects. The examination of humans and their world of feelings is central to MARCK's oeuvre.

• Masters of Light
  • Über die Ausstellung
  • Masters of Light

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Peter Demetz

      Peter Demetz' geschnitzte Inszenierungen aus hellem Holz sind Momentaufnahmen alltäglicher Situationen, ohne jedoch Geschichten oder Handlungen zu beschreiben. Durch die bühnenhafte Einbettung der ProtagonistInnen in Schaukästen wird zeitlose Stille erzeugt und ein kontrastreiches Empfinden von Unendlichkeit und Freiheit versus Determination und gesellschaftlichem Zwang hervorgerufen. Die Szenen leben von der Distanz und der Nähe der Figuren und der architektonischen Elemente zueinander. Der Betrachter ist eingeladen, den Figuren des Künstlers Emotionen und Gedanken und den Settings Vorangegangenes und Bevorstehendes zuzuschreiben.

      Hans Kotter

      Die skulpturalen Leuchtkästen von Hans Kotter gleichen malerisch-farbigen und grafisch-strukturierten Objekten, welche im Rhythmus der Wiederholung und Reihung und der Erfindung neuer Formen und Konzeptionen einen gleichzeitig konzeptionellen wie spielerischen Reichtum entfalten. Die Leuchtkörper transformieren zu autonomen Wesen, zu Lichtskulpturen, welche den Raum nicht nur farbig verändern, vielmehr auch räumlich neu strukturieren, ihm einen neuen Rhythmus geben.

      Christiane Grimm

      Christiane Grimm gestaltet ihre Bildobjekte meist als Räume aus verschiedenen Gläsern und Materialien, die sie so anordnet, dass die Durchbrechung des einen durch das andere eine kalkulierte und zugleich vitale Bildwelt erzeugt. Es sind poetische Gebilde und Scheinarchitekturen aus lichten, schwebenden Flächen – unbunt oder farbig. Die Anordnung der einzelnen Elemente unterwandert jeden Versuch einer eindeutigen perspektivischen Zuordnung. Zusätzlich irritieren optische Effekte die räumliche Wahrnehmung und kreieren ein offenes Feld zwischen Malerei, Plastik und Architektur.

      Marck

      Die Videoskulpturen des Schweizer Künstlers MARCK sind mehr als eine simple Kombination von Video und Skulptur: Sie sind die logische Folge einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung MARCKs mit Filmen und Videos, multimedialen Projekten, Perfomances, Musik und skulpturalen, kinetischen Objekten. Zentraler Aspekt in MARCKs Werken ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Menschen und seiner Gefühlswelt – die Suche nach einer Verknüpfung zwischen äußeren Einflüssen und inneren Zuständen.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Moto Waganari, Yoshiyuki Miura, Peter Demetz, Hans Kotter, Christiane Grimm, Marck