• JIM AVIGNON: up to date
  • About the exhibition
  • JIM AVIGNON: up to date

    HEITSCH GALLERY warmly invites you to the new exhibition UP TO DATE with the creative all-rounder JIM AVIGNON. Created during the pandemic, his new works combine contemporary, socio-critical themes with humour and lightness.

    Follow the artist into fragmentary interlocking worlds. Familiar visual experiences are challenged. Already the opening picture of the exhibition "up to date" shows: There is no escape. The sailor did literally get the plug pulled - a hollow-eyed pink raven holds the broken cable in its beak. Even the message in the bottle under the sailor's arm brings no salvation.

    Cubist and neo-objective pictorial means are used by Jim Avignon to reproduce the dualistic perception and characteristics of our daily life. The figures freeze into lifeless and unrelated, interchangeable templates, some of them, like the striding woman, only awake the impression of dynamics. Multi-perspective objects, an unstable backdrop, and the contrast between close-up and distant views, reveal a world that seems to be out of joint.

    Inspired by the new objectivity and the iconographically significant figures and motifs of old and new masters, a portrait of our time is created with a twinkle in the eye.

    On March 19, you are cordially invited to visit us in time slots of 30 minutes between 2 and 8 pm at Heitsch Gallery! From March 19 to April 30, the gallery will be open, a visit is possible in compliance with all momentary measures. Due to the current situation, we would like to ask you to pre-register at pr@heitschgallery.com.

    Enjoy art!

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Jim Avignon

      All-round artist Jim Avignon is internationally renowned as a painter, musician, performance-artist and writer. His naive cartoon style is deceiving - with a touch of irony he questions our capitalistic globalised world. His fast and low priced mass production sabotages the strategies of the art market and disapproves of financial speculation. Although Avignon is long since considered an iconic figure in the Berlin art- and music scene he still manages to cross the boundaries of mainstream and underground.

Artworks of the exhibition

With works by Jim Avignon

• up to date
  • Über die Ausstellung
  • up to date

    UP TO DATE ist die neue Ausstellung des kreativen Allrounders JIM AVIGNON. Die HEITSCH GALLERY heißt sie herzlich willkommen. Entstanden in der Pandemie, verbinden seine neuen Werke zeitgenössische, gesellschaftskritischen Themen mit Humor und Leichtigkeit.

    Folgen Sie dem Künstler in mannigfaltige, parallel existierendene, fragmentarisch ineinandergreifende Welten. Gewohnte Seherfahrungen werden auf die Probe gestellt. Schon das Eröffnungsbild der Ausstellung " up to date“ zeigt: Es gibt kein Entkommen. Dem Matrosen wurde buchstäblich der Stecker gezogen – ein hohläugiger rosa Rabe hält das gerissene Kabel im Schnabel. Auch die Botschaft in der Flasche unter dem Arm des Matrosen bringt keine Rettung.

    Kubistische und neusachliche bildgestalterische Mittel verhelfen Jim Avignon zur Wiedergabe der dualistischen, für die heutige Zeit ebenso charakteristischen Wahrnehmung. Die Figuren erstarren zu leb- und beziehungslosen, austauschbaren Schablonen, manche von ihnen wie die schreitende Frau gaukeln auch Dynamik vor. Mehrperspektivische Objekte, eine instabile Kulisse, und der Kontrast zwischen Nah- und Fernsicht, zeigt eine Welt, die aus den Fugen geraten scheint.

    Inspiriert von der Neuen Sachlichkeit und den ikonographisch bedeutenden Figuren und Motiven Alter wie Neuer Meister, entsteht ein Porträt unserer Zeit mit Augenzwinkern.

    Am 19. März sind sie herzlich eingeladen uns in Time-Slots von 30 Minuten zwischen 14 und 20 Uhr in der Heitsch Gallery zu besuchen! Entdecken Sie die Ausstellung mit einer VIRTUELLEN TOUR oder besuchen Sie uns in der Galerie bis zum 30. April 2021. Aufgrund der derzeitigen Situation möchten wir Sie um eine Voranmeldung an pr@heitschgallery.com bitten.

    Genießen Sie Kunst!

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Jim Avignon

      Der schnelle Wechsel zwischen Sparten, Genres, Milieus und Kontexten ist Teil der künstlerischen Strategie Jim Avignons. Die Regeln des Kunstmarktes haben ihn noch nie interessiert, nur wenn es galt, sie zu brechen oder ironische Spielchen mit ihnen zu treiben. Gerne verwendet Avignon Billigmaterial und zerfetzt auch mal seine eigenen Werke, um sodann die Relikte an documenta-BesucherInnen zu verschenken. Seine fantastisch anmutenden, poppigen Bilder mit großen Farbflächen und klaren, schwarzen Umrisslinien sind Sittengemälde der Neuzeit.

      Das Künstlerinterview mit dem lokalen Sender München TV zur Ausstellung "up to date" (2021) in der Heitsch Gallery finden Sie HIER.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Jim Avignon