• FUTURE LAB
  • About the exhibition
  • FUTURE LAB

    The HEITSCH GALLERY transforms the conventional gallery into a communication platform for creative people. We offer art lovers a service of a very special kind in the coming months. Live-streamings, digital moderated artist talks and videos give insights into the gallery and behind the scenes of artistic creation, complemented by the possibility to visit our gallery in digital rooms.

    On site in our premises at Munich's Gärtnerplatz we offer interested parties a service that has never been available before. By appointment, we can put together an exclusive presentation of your favourite artist for up to two people. This service is not limited to the gallery, as we also offer the possibility to install a work of art of your choice free of charge in the Munich area (up to one meter in size) in your home or business. Just send us an email to INFO@HEITSCHGALERIE.DE or contact us by phone at 089 269 49 110.

    The digital possibilities offer room for innovation and new perspectives on the world of tomorrow. The emerging and already established artists of the HEITSCH GALLERY, whose art is deeply rooted in traditional art history, present their works of art in dialogue with the Old Masters and the great names of modernity. Through our new exhibition concept they become an innovative part of the digital and real art world.

    We are proud to present the following artists as part of the FUTURE LAB project:

    EIKE KÖNIG, MOTO WAGANARI, MARCK, RALF SCHMERBERG, ANTONIO MARRA, JIM AVIGNON, MARCO CASENTINI, MARC FROMM, GYÖRGY GASPAR, DIRK SALZ, ANGELA GLAJCAR, JOERG HEITSCH, ROLAND HELMER, SLAVA SEIDEL, HENNING VON GIERKE, JÜRGEN PAAS, MEDARDUS, UDO NÖGER, CHRISTIAN GRIMM, ZSUZSANNA KORODI

    In our digital BOOKLET you will find an overview of the selected artists and some of their works.

    You are also welcome to visit our current VIRTUAL EXHIBITION on the artists Roman Klonek and Ralf Schmerberg.

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Eike König

      Eike König is a ’world renowned graphic designer‘ and founder & creative director of Berlin-based creative collective HORT. Eike’s artistic work is celebrated for it's conceptual, emotional, visual - sometimes playful, but always deliberate approach. Eike is also a professor at the University of Arts, HfG Offenbach.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Ralf Schmerberg

      Ralf Schmerberg’s artistic practice explores the boundaries of society, continuously expanding and redefining them. Looking closely at those around him, his photographs enter the various layers of humanitas to conjure up new emotional spaces. Schmerberg acts on impulse, rejecting the idea of staged or carefully constructed compositions in favour of intuitive moments that are given form in an image. A searcher by nature, Schmerberg uses art as a tool to pursue his spiritual quest. This perpetual process of seeking and finding is ultimately what he documents in his works.
      Please visit our VIRTUAL EXHIBITION on Ralf Schmerberg.

      Marck

      The video sculptures by Swiss artist MARCK are more than a simple combination of video and sculpture: They are a logic consequence of his extensive examination with films and videos, multimedia based projects, performances, music and sculptural as well as kinetic objects. The examination of humans and their world of feelings is central to MARCK's oeuvre.

      Medardus

      Medardus developes his painting cycles by searching for clues in the past. For his oil paintings the artist combines motives of historical paintings or photographs with his own picture imaginations and creatures as well as with contemporary topics such as technology or aerospace. Medardus creates ambivalent, strange visual spaces, in which humans, animals and machines merge to timeless views. The artist lives and works in Switzerland.

      György Gáspár

      György Gáspár's work can be associated with deconstructive architecture. Fragments of sculptural forms are recognizable, reminiscent of a mathematical system. In a certain way, the organic network of precise geometric lines and elements inside the glass seems to expand. Deep psychic experiences become possible. In a complicated process, the artist layers differently painted transparent glass panes on top of each other, thus creating his glass sculptures. The classical character of the glass, its brilliance and its imposing appearance play less of a role here. His focus on deconstruction is apparent in the strong contrast between the outer form and the inner system. Gáspár not only overcomes traditional sculptural principles by focusing on architectural disciplines, but also explores the border between image and sculpture.

      Zsuzsanna Kóródi

      „I always think in layers. The layers induce parallel and perpendicular images, which move in both space and time, and characterized by a repeating rhythm. In my sculptures and images, the visual image, movement, or geometry of light is always created between two such layers at a given distance from one other. I incorporate handcraft, as well as industrial and digital technologies in my work. I combine these to evoke the delicate contrasts that helps me expose a given problem. I am mostly interested in monochromatic plane-forms and, lately, in color transitions. I create upscaled lenticular lenses out of glass rods by cutting, polishing and glueing. These big lenses gave me the opportunity to get multiple phases of the same image just like an animation. The image is moving and changing with the viewers moves and not only to two directions. If you stand front of the image and steps closer and closer you will see more and more colors as the focus of the lens is changing. I used squares and rectangles to visualize the pixels of a screen with vivid colors. I also played with the 'resolution' of the pixels to get the composition. The colors next to each other generates optically mixed colors like in pointillism.”

      Roman Klonek

      Roman Klonek is known to be of the leading artists in the German graphic arts scene. As a student he worked on his first wood cut and can't get off it ever since. His humorous prints depict colourful, imaginary landscapes filled with bizarre characters. Exotic letterings all over the image arouse even more questions instead of helping us to decipher the unusual scenes. By now Klonek has created his very own fancyful cosmos of odd creatures all being inspired by the Eastern European cartoons of his childhood.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz works on paintings whose most striking feature is their high-gloss surfaces. These are the result of the use of multi-layered epoxy resins coated with pigments and the sealing with polyurethane varnish. The images of Dirk Salz always aim at the experience of the temporality of the seeing. They demand an active viewer, who takes the time to move back and forth, back and forth, before the initially closing works, in order to open up their complexity so slowly. Reflection in this work is thus in two forms in the game: optically as the mirroring property of the picture surfaces, as a reflection-aesthetic as the reflection of the viewer on his own visual experience.

      Jessus Hernandez

      Jessus Hernandez lives and works in Southern California. He is a self-taught artist drawing inspiration from the diversity that abounds. Architecture and nature converge in his creations where he infuses vibrant color, linear form, dimension, light, and space to create geometric abstract art forms in a vast array of superimposed perspectives. Always intrigued with the placement of shapes and lines in cityscapes, he developed a love for architectural design which became the foundation for his artistic visions.

      Henning von Gierke

      For many years now, renowned Munich-based artist Henning von Gierke has been fascinating his public with his realistic style of painting. In his works, the artist questions human existence in the context of nature, religion and philosophy. Besides classical themes from Greek mythology and religious imagery, von Gierke also paints portraits, still-lives and domestic themes within his extensive artistic oeuvre. Beyond creating astonishing pictures on canvas, he is also well known as a stage-designer and director worldwide. For his creative impact in the film industry, he received two of the most acclaimed film awards in Germany - the German Movie Award in Gold and the Silver Bear at the Berlinale.

      Jim Avignon

      All-round artist Jim Avignon is internationally renowned as a painter, musician, performance-artist and writer. His naive cartoon style is deceiving - with a touch of irony he questions our capitalistic globalised world. His fast and low priced mass production sabotages the strategies of the art market and disapproves of financial speculation. Although Avignon is long since considered an iconic figure in the Berlin art- and music scene he still manages to cross the boundaries of mainstream and underground.

      Marco Casentini

      Marco Casentini explores in his work spatial dynamics of color, texture and shape. He is inspired by designs of urban space and reflects geometrical and architectural questions. By decoding environments and urban structures that he perceives immediately, he deconstructs and interprets designs of architects, engineers and town planners. Casentinis use of radiant, bright or strong colors is stimulated by southern Californian or Mexican paintings of houses and dematerializes their architectural surfaces.

      Marc Fromm

      Marc Fromm‘s carved reliefs and sculptures refelct the values of our every day culture. The artist introduces contemporary topics using the elaborate techniques of old mastery wood craft. Traditional religious altar scenes are reinterpreted as modern billboards just like former religious assurance is replaced by the promised land of advertising. Marc Fromm reveals the stereotypes of the advertisement industry and unmasks the fake glamour of today‘s commercialized products.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar's paper sculptures mostly hang, floating in the air. They seem light and delicate, however they show a strong sculptural presence. Terforation is the title of Angela Glajcar's cubic pieces. The staggered arrangement of the vertically hung series of sheets of white paper, with torn edges, produces cave-like recessions. These extend into the depth of the sculpture. The sharp ridges and deep caverns evoke associations with glacial or rock formations while light and shadow fall on the surface of the sheets, enlivening the interior of the oblong structure. The viewer is led into fascinating rooms of harmony and silence.

      Roland Helmer

      Since the 60s, Roland Helmer develops his constructive and concrete work with the utmost consequence. His abstract-geometric early work shows clear forms, quiet areas and is limited to a maximum of 7 or 8 bright colors. The variety of shapes is reduced in later work on narrow and wide lines in a vertical and horizontal screen layout. The color palette expands on certain issues by blends and underpainting with white and black. In painting concrete and constructive, he is one of those designers who bring a personal picture as part of an imaging system.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marra’s abstract works remain truly fascinating due to their surprising change of form and colour. Each of his multi-perspective paintings contains several more pictures which reveal themselves by circling around the canvas. Step by step the spectator is drawn into a vivid and dynamic kaleidoscope of shape and colour. Marra’s art is a surprising experience of unique visual and dimensional effects. This painter has come to his very own style reflecting and redefining the techniques of Op-art and Orphism.

      Herbert Mehler

      Herbert Mehler’s steel sculptures embody archaic shapes from nature and geometry which may be associated with organic forms of plants and buds. „I am convinced that everyone of us has incorporated a set of basic patterns which affect the human perception.“ The sculptor intertwines organic and tectonic principles - the folded surfaces of his objects remind us of tree bark as well as classical Greek columns. Mehler’s curvelinear objects bend and turn suggesting energetic impetus as a metaphor for organic growth and vitality.

      Udo Nöger

      Udo Nöger attended Fachhochschule, Bielefeld University, and has studied in Paderborn, Berlin and Spain. Thanks to winning Nixdorf Grant, he spent some time in the early 90’s in New York, NY and Denver, CO.

      Nöger aims to bring out the luminescence of paint in his practice. The artist is known for monochromatic gray works that give the impression of emitting light. Nöger achieves this effect by stretching multiple pieces of fabric or canvas onto one frame; he either paints on or cuts shapes into the different layers beforehand. As a result, the work appears lighter and more transparent in certain parts. Nöger has also been known to paint on the underside of the fabric, and to use materials of varying thickness and opacity.

      Udo Nöger’s paintings, which appear at first glance to be gestural Abstract Expressionism transmuted to a subtle, luminous palette of pale silvery grays, whites and off-whites, change as the viewer moves in and out or changes the angle of view, as well as the level and quality of light falling on and reflected back from the works. The scumbled surfaces and tubular forms (which look airbrushed, but are not) change in sharpness (and thus implied depth) and even color. The wall color may be visible, and possibly also the floor; it’s difficult to decipher how these works operate. With their abstract illusionism perfectly calibrated, they’re spatially ambiguous.

      Jürgen Paas

      Jürgen Paas creates circles, rectangles, squares, cubes and translates them into an open painting system, which surveys individual aspects such as color, form and space. Here, he combines system and order with chance and regularity, which manifests itself in an extremely varied and sensuous material painting. Wall-painted, glued and assembled different-color figurations are in dialogue with the archive systems placed on them or on top of them, made of brackets, color plates or ribbons. The interplay of regular geometrical forms suggests a rhythmic spatial sound that, in the context of synesthetic perception, brings a polyphonic overall work of art into view.

      Albert Paley

      Albert Paley, an active artist for over 40 years at his studio in Rochester, New York, is the first metal sculptor to receive the coveted Institute Honors awarded by the American Institute of Architects, the AIA’s highest award to a non- architect. “The allure of Paley’s art comes through its intrinsic sense of integration of art and architecture,” as one noted architect stated. Paley, Distinguished Professor, holds an Endowed Chair at the College of Imaging Arts and Sciences at Rochester Institute of Technology.

      Commissioned by both public institutions and private corporations, Paley has completed more than 50 site-specific works. Some notable examples are the Portal Gates for the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC, Synergy, a ceremonial archway in Philadelphia, the Portal Gates for the New York State Senate Chambers in Albany, Sentinel, a monumental plaza sculpture for Rochester Institute of Technology, as well as a 65-foot sculpture for the entry court of Bausch and Lomb’s headquarters in Rochester, NY. Recently completed works include three sculptures for the National Harbor development near Washington DC, a 130’ long archway named Animals Always for the St. Louis Zoo, a gate for the Cleveland Botanical Gardens in Cleveland, OH, a sculptural relief for Wellington Place, Toronto, Canada, Threshold, a sculpture for the Corporate Headquarters of Klein Steel, Rochester, NY, and Transformation, a ceremonial entranceway for Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa.

      Pieces by Albert Paley can be found in the permanent collections of many major museums including the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, and the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

      Broadly published and an international lecturer, Paley received both his BFA and MFA from the Tyler School of Art in Philadelphia. He received honorary doctorates from the University of Rochester in 1989, the State University of New York at Brockport in 1996, St. Lawrence University, in Canton, New York in 1997, and the University of Gothenburg, in Sweden in 2012.

      Slava Seidel

      The magical compositions by the Russian painter Slava Seidel visualize a world shifting between truth and illusion. Her sepia-ink drawings depict surreal scenes in stupendous architectural settings which create a feeling of tension, vertigo and dynamic. The artist masters to depict even the most complex architectural structures in contortion - despite the challenging ink-technique which does not allow any later corrections. Seidel’s technical precision is just as remarkable as her imaginary gift which takes us to unknown, fantastic realities.

      Matthias A. K. Zimmermann

      The model worlds of the Swiss painter and media artist Matthias A. K. Zimmermann reflect on and research the history of art, design and media. Elements and objects of the past and present form complex images borrowed from the Middle Ages, the Asian cultural area and the digital modern age. Zimmermann's creative process falls under the phrasing of artistic research. His model worlds distill the spatial composition of medieval panel paintings, examine the development of digital visual languages and fan out the levels of virtual spaces. Source code, computer game graphics, Japanese gardens, Buddhist symbolism and icon painting form a fascinating topology of space and time.

• FUTURE LAB
  • Über die Ausstellung
  • FUTURE LAB

    Die HEITSCH GALLERY verwandelt die konventionelle Galerie in eine Kommunikationsplattform für Kreative. Wir bieten Kunstliebhabern in den nächsten Monaten einen Service der ganz besonderen Art. Live-Streamings, digitale moderierte Artist-Talks und Videos geben Einblicke in die Galerie und hinter die Kulisse künstlerischen Schaffens, ergänzt von der Möglichkeit unsere Galerie in digitalen Räumen zu besuchen.

    Vor Ort in unseren Räumlichkeiten am Münchner Gärtnerplatz bieten wir Interessierten einen Service, den es so nicht gab. Nach Vereinbarung stellen wir für bis zu zwei Personen eine exklusive Präsentation ihres Lieblingskünstlers zusammen. Dieser Service ist nicht auf die Galerie beschränkt, denn wir bieten auch die Möglichkeit ein Kunstwerk ihrer Wahl kostenlos im Raum München (bis zu einem Meter groß) in ihrer Wohnung oder ihrem Betrieb Probe zu installieren. Schicken Sie uns einfach eine Mail an INFO@HEITSCHGALERIE.DE oder kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter 089 269 49 110.

    Die digitalen Möglichkeiten bieten Raum für Innovation und neue Perspektiven auf die Welt von morgen. Die aufstrebenden und bereits etablierten Künstler der HEITSCH GALLERY, deren Kunst tief in der traditionellen Kunstgeschichte verwurzelt ist, präsentieren ihre Kunstwerke im Dialog zu den Alten Meistern und den großen Namen der Moderne. Durch unser neues Ausstellungskonzept werden sie zu einem innovativen Bestandteil der digitalen und realen Kunstwelt.

    Wir sind stolz ihnen folgende Künstler als Teil des Projekts FUTURE LAB zu präsentieren:

    EIKE KÖNIG, MOTO WAGANARI, MARCK, RALF SCHMERBERG, ANTONIO MARRA, JIM AVIGNON, MARCO CASENTINI, MARC FROMM, GYÖRGY GASPAR, DIRK SALZ, ANGELA GLAJCAR, JOERG HEITSCH, ROLAND HELMER, SLAVA SEIDEL, HENNING VON GIERKE, JÜRGEN PAAS, MEDARDUS, UDO NÖGER, CHRISTIANE GRIMM, ZSUZSANNA KORODI

    In unserem digitalen BOOKLET finden Sie eine Übersicht der ausgewählten Künstler und einige ihrer Werke.

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Eike König

      Eike König ist ein "weltbekannter Grafikdesigner" und Gründer & Kreativdirektor des Berliner Kreativkollektivs HORT. Eikes künstlerische Arbeit wird für seine konzeptionelle, emotionale, visuelle - manchmal spielerische, aber immer bewusste - Annäherung gefeiert. Eike ist auch Professor an der Hochschule der Künste, HfG Offenbach.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Ralf Schmerberg

      Ralf Schmerbergs künstlerische Praxis erforscht die Grenzen der Gesellschaft, um sie kontinuierlich zu erweitern und neu zu definieren. Dabei ist Schmerberg immer nah an den Menschen und dringt mit seinen Bildern in die Schichten der Humanitas vor, um eine Tiefe zu entwickeln, die emotionale Räume schafft. Schmerberg agiert instinktiv und lehnt die Idee einer inszenierten oder sorgfältig konstruierten Komposition ab, zugunsten intuitiver Momente, denen er im Bild Form gibt. Für Schmerberg ist die Kunst ein Mittel, seine spirituelle Suche zu verfolgen. Dieser fortwährende Prozess des Suchens und Findens ist letztlich das, was er in seinen Werken dokumentiert.

      Marck

      Die Videoskulpturen des Schweizer Künstlers MARCK sind mehr als eine simple Kombination von Video und Skulptur: Sie sind die logische Folge einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung MARCKs mit Filmen und Videos, multimedialen Projekten, Perfomances, Musik und skulpturalen, kinetischen Objekten. Zentraler Aspekt in MARCKs Werken ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Menschen und seiner Gefühlswelt – die Suche nach einer Verknüpfung zwischen äußeren Einflüssen und inneren Zuständen.

      Medardus

      Der Künstler Medardus, der mit vollem Namen Camille Medardus Hagner heißt, entwickelt seine Gemäldezyklen mittels Spurensuche in der Vergangenheit. Für seine Ölgemälde kombiniert der Künstler Motive historischer Gemälde oder Fotografien mit eigenen Bildimaginationen und Geschöpfen sowie zeitgenössischen Themenbereichen aus Technik oder Raumfahrt. Medardus erschafft ambivalente, fremdartige Bildräume in denen Mensch, Tier und Maschine zu zeitlosen Ansichten verschmelzen. Der Maler lebt und arbeitet in der Schweiz.

      György Gáspár

      György Gáspárs Werk kann mit dekonstruktiver Architektur in Verbindung gebracht werden. Fragmente von skulpturalen Formen sind erkennbar, die an ein mathematisches System erinnern. Auf eine bestimmte Weise scheint sich das organischen Netz aus präzisen geometrischen Linien und Elementen im Inneren des Glases auszudehnen.
      Tiefe psychische Erfahrungen werden möglich. In einem komplizierten Prozess schichtet der Künstler verschieden bemalte transparente Glasscheiben aufeinander und lässt so seine Glasskulpturen entstehen. Der klassische Charakter des Glases, sein Glanz und seine imposante Erscheinung spielen hierbei weniger eine Rolle. Sein Fokus auf Dekonstruktion macht sich im starken Kontrast zwischen der äußerlichen Form und dem inneren System bemerkbar. Gáspár überwindet nicht nur die traditionellen bildhauerische Prinzipien indem er auf architektonische Disziplinen setzt, sondern er untersucht die Grenze zwischen Bild und Skulptur.

      Zsuzsanna Kóródi

      "Ich denke immer in Schichten. Die Schichten rufen parallele und senkrechte Bilder hervor, die sich sowohl in Raum als auch in Zeit bewegen und durch einen sich wiederholenden Rhythmus gekennzeichnet sind. In meinen Skulpturen und Bildern entsteht das visuelle Bild, die Bewegung oder Geometrie des Lichts immer zwischen zwei solchen Schichten in einem bestimmten Abstand voneinander. Ich arbeite mit handwerklichen, industriellen und digitalen Technologien. Ich kombiniere diese, um die zarten Kontraste hervorzubringen, die mir helfen, ein bestimmtes Problem zu erkennen. Ich interessiere mich vor allem für monochrome Flächenformen und in letzter Zeit für Farbübergänge. Aus Glasstäben fertige ich durch Schneiden, Polieren und Kleben hochskalierte Linsenrasterbilder. Das sind Bilder, die mittels winziger optischer Linsen oder Prismen einen dreidimensionalen Eindruck erzeugten. Das Glasrelief gibt mir die Möglichkeit, mehrere Phasen des gleichen Bildes wie bei einer Animation zu erhalten. Das Bild bewegt sich und verändert sich mit dem Betrachter und das nicht nur in zwei Richtungen. Wenn Sie sich vor das Bild stellen und immer näher kommen, werden Sie immer mehr Farben sehen. Ich benutzte Quadrate und Rechtecke, um die Pixel eines Bildschirms mit lebendigen Farben zu visualisieren. Ich spiele mit der „Auflösung“ der Pixel um die Komposition zu konstruieren. Die Farben nebeneinander erzeugen optisch gemischte Farben wie im Pointillismus."

      Roman Klonek

      Roman Klonek repräsentiert in der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene, die von der Vielfalt der digitalen Möglichkeiten stark beeinflußt ist, als einer der herausragendsten Künstler die traditionelle Drucktechnik „Holzschnitt“. Betrachtet man Kloneks Werk, erkennt man rasch seine Vorliebe für sehr reduzierte Formen und oft tierähnliche Wesen, die zuweilen an die Geburtsstunde des Comics erinnern. Die Charaktere, die Kloneks Welt bevölkern, sind alles andere als Superhelden. Vielmehr könnte man sie als Versuchskaninchen bezeichnen, die im Labor des Zeichners auf ihre Bestimmung warten. Dieser hält die Fäden in der Hand, stellt seinen Protagonisten Fallen, legt Fettnäpfchen aus und beobachtet dann, gemeinsam mit dem Betrachter, was wohl passiert.
      Unsere virtuelle Ausstellung zu Roman Klonek finden sie HIER.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz arbeitet an Gemälden, deren auffälligstes Merkmal ihre hochglänzenden Oberflächen sind. Diese kommen durch den Einsatz mehrschichtig aufgetragener, mit Pigmenten versehener Epoxidharze und die Versiegelung mit Polyurethanlack zustande. Die Bilder von Dirk Salz zielen immer auf die Erfahrung der Zeitlichkeit des Sehens. Sie fordern einen aktiven Betrachter, der sich die Zeit nimmt, sich vor den sich zunächst verschließenden Arbeiten hin und her, vor und zurück zu bewegen, den Blick jeweils neu zu fokussieren, um sich so langsam ihre Komplexität zu erschließen. Reflexion ist bei diesen Arbeiten also in zweierlei Form im Spiel: optisch als die Spiegelungseigenschaft der Bildoberflächen, rezeptionsästhetisch als die Reflexion des Betrachters auf seine eigene Seh-Erfahrung.

      Jessus Hernandez

      Jessus Hernandez lives and works in Southern California. He is a self-taught artist drawing inspiration from the diversity that abounds. Architecture and nature converge in his creations where he infuses vibrant color, linear form, dimension, light, and space to create geometric abstract art forms in a vast array of superimposed perspectives. Always intrigued with the placement of shapes and lines in cityscapes, he developed a love for architectural design which became the foundation for his artistic visions.

      Henning von Gierke

      Seit Jahren begeistert der Münchner Maler Henning von Gierke ein internationales Publikum mit seiner realistischen Malweise. Er hinterfragt in seinen Arbeiten unser Dasein im Kontext von Natur, Religion und Philosophie. Die klassischen Themen der Mythologie, des Christentums und der Religionen gehören ebenso zu seinem umfangreichen Oeuvre wie Portraits, Stillleben oder Interieurs. Nicht nur als Maler, auch als Regisseur und Bühnenbildner ist von Gierke weltweit gefragt. Für seine Filmausstattungen wurde er mit dem deutschen Filmpreis in Gold und dem silbernen Bären ausgezeichnet.

      Jim Avignon

      Der schnelle Wechsel zwischen Sparten, Genres, Milieus und Kontexten ist Teil der künstlerischen Strategie Jim Avignons. Die Regeln des Kunstmarktes haben ihn noch nie interessiert, nur wenn es galt, sie zu brechen oder ironische Spielchen mit ihnen zu treiben. Gerne verwendet Avignon Billigmaterial und zerfetzt auch mal seine eigenen Werke, um sodann die Relikte an documenta-BesucherInnen zu verschenken. Seine fantastisch anmutenden, poppigen Bilder mit großen Farbflächen und klaren, schwarzen Umrisslinien sind Sittengemälde der Neuzeit.

      Marco Casentini

      Marco Casentini erkundet in seiner Arbeit räumliche Dynamiken von Farbe, Textur und Form. Seine von der Gestaltung des städtischen Raums inspirierten Werke spiegeln sein Interesse an Geometrie sowie Architektur und eröffnen dem Betrachter mit ihrer leuchtenden, hellen Farbpalette die Stimmung der lebendigen Häuseranstriche Südkaliforniens und Mexikos. Er dekodiert die architektonischen Oberflächen und das, was er unmittelbar wahrnimmt – das kann zum Beispiel eine Achterbahn sein –, indem er die Entwürfe von ArchitektInnen, IngenieurInnen und StadtplanerInnen dekonstruiert und neu interpretiert. Monochromatische Werke, die Casentini aus seinen europäischen Erfahrungen generiert, weisen dunklere Farben mit ihren Variationen im Farbton auf.

      Marc Fromm

      Marc Fromms geschnitzte Reliefbilder und Skulpturen reflektieren Ausschnitte unserer täglichen Gegenwartskultur. Dabei setzt er sich mit den Werten und Qualitäten unserer Zeit
      auseinander. Der Künstler verarbeitet zeitgenössische Motive mit der Technik und Brillianz traditioneller, altmeisterlicher Schnitzkunst. Kirchliche Altartafeln deutet er zu modernen Werbetafeln um und ersetzt die religiösen Verheißungen durch die Versprechungen der Hochglanzmagazine. Marc Fromm thematisiert den heiligen Schein der Konsumwelt und demaskiert die Werbe-Klischees unserer Zeit.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcars Papierskulpturen scheinen fast frei im Raum zu schweben. Sie vermitteln eine unnachahmliche Leichtigkeit und Schlichtheit. Gleichzeitig gibt die klare Reduktion des Materials, das weiße Papier, den Skulpturen eine unnachgiebige Klarheit. Geometrische Formen werden durch die einfache Geste des Reißens konterkariert. Zudem geben die Staffelung des Materials und das Spiel von Licht und Schatten auf verschiedenen Ebenen, dem Kunstwerk eine unnachahmliche Tiefe. Letztlich sorgen Angela Glajcars Skulpturen für Ruhe und Ausgeglichenheit.

      Roland Helmer

      Seit den 60er Jahren entwickelt Roland Helmer seine konstruktiv- konkreten Arbeiten mit größter Konsequenz. Sein abstrakt- geometrisches Frühwerk zeigt klare Formen, ruhige Flächen und beschränkt sich auf maximal 7 oder 8 leuchtende Farben. Die Formenvielfalt reduziert sich im Spätwerk auf schmale und breite Linien in einem senkrechten und waagrechten Bildaufbau. Die Farbpalette erweitert sich bei bestimmten Themen durch Abmischungen und Untermalungen mit weiß und schwarz.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marras abstrakte Arbeiten üben durch ihren verblüffenden Wandel von Form und Farbe eine außergewöhnliche Faszination aus. Jedes seiner multi-perspektivischen Gemälde enthält stets mehrere Bilder, die sich als ein lebendiges, bewegtes Kaleidoskop mit jedem Schritt verändern. Marras Kunst wird zum überraschenden Erlebnis, indem sie uns einzigartige visuelle und räumliche Effekte erfahren lässt. Der Maler hat zu einem ganz eigenen Stil gefunden, der die Techniken von Op-Art und Orphismus reflektiert und durch neue Varianten erweitert.

      Herbert Mehler

      Herbert Mehlers amorphe Stahlskulpturen verweisen auf archaische Urformen der Natur und Geometrie. Assoziationen an Pflanzen, Blüten und Knospen werden wach. „Ich glaube, jeder trägt einen Kanon der Urformen in sich, die kulturübergreifend in der menschlichen Wahrnehmung verankert sind“, so Mehler. Der Künstler verbindet Organisches mit Tektonischem – so erinnert allein die lamellenhafte Oberfläche seiner Objekte an Baumrinde, aber auch an antike Säulen. Sanfte Schwünge dynamisieren die Skulpturen und laden sie energetisch auf. Als eine Metapher auf organische Wachtumsprozesse und die Energie des Lebens laden Mehlers harmonische, formschöne Skulpturen zu meditativer Ruhe und Kontemplation ein.
      Mit internationalen Ausstellungen und zahlreichen Ankäufen durch Museen und für den öffentlichen Raum hat sich Herbert Mehler einen Namen gemacht. Aktuell lebt und arbeitet der Künstler in Berlin und Riedenheim bei Würzburg.

      Udo Nöger

      Nögers Ziel ist es, die Lumineszenz von Farbe zu zeigen. Er ist bekannt für seine monochromatischen grauen Arbeiten, die erscheinen, als würden sie selbst Licht ausstrahlen. Nöger erreicht diesen Effekt, indem er mehrere Bahnen Stoff oder Leinwand auf einen Rahmen spannt, die wiederum vorher bemalt oder beschnitten wurden. Deshalb wirken die Arbeiten an manchen Stellen lichtdurchlässiger als an anderen. Nöger ist auch dafür bekannt, die Stoffunterseite zu bemalen und Materialien unterschiedlicher Stärke und Opakheit zu verwenden.

      Udo Nögers Gemälde, auf den ersten Blick ein gestischer Abstrakter Expressionismus, der in eine subtilere, leuchtende Palette blasser Silber- und Grautöne, Weiß und gebrochenes Weiß übergeht, verändern sich wenn der Beschauer seinen Standpunkt vor ihnen ändert sowie bei wechselndem Lichteinfall.

      Udo Nöger besuchte die Fachhochschule Bielefeld und studierte anschließend in Paderborn, Berlin und Spanien. Als Stipendiat des Heinz Nixdorf Instituts verweilte er u.a. in New York, NY und Denver, CO.

      Jürgen Paas

      Jürgen Paas schafft Kreise, Rechtecke, Quadrate, Kuben und übersetzt sie in ein offenes Malereisystem, das Einzelaspekte wie Farbe, Form und Raum befragt. Hierbei verbindet er Systematik und Ordnung mit Zufall und Regellosigkeit, die sich in einer äußerst variantenreichen und sinnlichen Materialmalerei äußert. Auf die Wand gemalte, geklebte und montierte verschiedenfarbige Figurationen stehen im Dialog mit den darauf oder daneben platzierten Archivsystemen aus Halterungen, Farbtafeln oder Farbbändern. Das Zusammenspiel regelmäßiger geometrischer Formen suggeriert einen rhythmischen Raumklang, der im Kontext synästhetischer Wahrnehmung ein polyphones Gesamtkunstwerk zur Anschauung bringt.

      Albert Paley

      Albert Paley, der seit über 40 Jahren in seinem Atelier in Rochester New York arbeitet, ist der erste Metall Bildhauer, der die begehrte "Institute Honor" erhalten hat, die vom American Institute of Architects verliehen wird. "Die Faszination von Paleys Kunst beruht auf seinem intrinsischen Gefühl der Integration von Kunst und Architektur", wie ein Architekt sagte. Paley, ein angesehener Professor, hat einen Stiftungslehrstuhl am College of Imaging Arts and Sciences am Rochester Institute of Technology inne.

      Sowohl von öffentlichen Institutionen als auch von privaten Firmen beauftragt, hat Paley mehr als 50 ortsspezifische Arbeiten verwirklicht. Einige bemerkenswerte Beispiele sind die Portaltüren für die Renwick Galerie der Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC, ein zeremonieller Torbogen in Philadelphia, die Portal Gates für die New York State Senat Chambers in Albany, Sentinel, eine monumentale Skulptur für das Rochester Institute of Technologie, sowie eine 65 Fuß große Skulptur für den Eingangsbereich von Bausch and Lomb's Hauptsitz in Rochester, NY. Zu den kürzlich abgeschlossenen Arbeiten gehören drei Skulpturen für die Nationalhafen-Entwicklung in der Nähe von Washington DC, ein Torbogen namens Animals Always für den St. Louis Zoo, ein Tor für die Cleveland Botanical Gardens in Cleveland, OH, ein skulpturales Relief für Wellington Place, Toronto, Kanada, eine Skulptur für die Konzernzentrale von Klein Steel, Rochester, NY sowie ein zeremonieller Eingang für die Iowa State University in Ames.

      Zahlreiche Werke von Albert Paley befinden sich in den ständigen Sammlungen großer Museen, darunter das Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, das Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, das Museum of Fine Arts in Houston und das Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

      Paley erhielt die Ehrendoktorwürde von der University of Rochester im Jahr 1989, der Staatlichen Universität New York in Brockport 1996, der St. Lawrence University im Bundesstaat New York im Jahr 1997 und der Universität Göteborg in Schweden im Jahr 2012.

      Slava Seidel

      Die magischen Kompositionen der russischen Malerin Slava Seidel visualisieren eine Welt zwischen Wahrheit und Illusion. Ihre Zeichnungen in Sepiatusche zeigen surreale Szenen vor beeindruckender Architektur-Kulisse, die ein Gefühl von Schwindel, Spannung und Dynamik provozieren. Sogar in Verzerrung meistert die Künstlerin die Darstellung der komplexesten Architekturformen - trotz der anspruchsvollen Tuschetechnik, die keine späteren Korrekturen erlaubt. Seidels technische Präzision ist ebenso bemerkenswert wie ihr Talent zur Bildimagination, das uns in unbekannte, phantastische Realitäten entführt.

      Matthias A. K. Zimmermann

      Die Modellwelten des Schweizer Malers und Medienkünstlers Matthias A. K. Zimmermann reflektieren und forschen in der Kunst-, Design- und Mediengeschichte. Elemente und Objekte der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart formen komplexe Bildinhalten, die dem Mittelalter, dem asiatischen Kulturraum sowie der digitalen modernen Zeit entliehen sind. Zimmermanns Schaffensprozess fällt unter den Passus der künstlerischen Forschung (auch artistic research genannt). Seine Modellwelten destillieren den Raumaufbau mittelalterlicher Tafelgemälde, untersuchen die Entwicklung digitaler Bildsprachen und fächern die Ebenen virtueller Räume auf. Quellcodes, Computerspielgrafiken, japanische Gärten, buddhistische Symbolik und Ikonenmalereien bilden eine faszinierende Topologie durch Raum und Zeit.