• Crunch Time
  • About the exhibition
  • Crunch Time

    Crunch Time is the title of the exhibition, borrowed from sports, where the best is demanded of all players when it comes to the decisive moments, to the use of the greatest possible energy for a meaningful victory. Now transferred to art, Crunchtime stands for an optimistic and intense new start.

    The categories of image, pictorial object, sculpture or installation can hardly be defined in the presented artworks and are staged in the interplay with light, time and space for the viewer and the audience as a multi-perspective experience.

    In JÜRGEN PAAS ' works, the categories of image, pictorial object, sculpture or installation can hardly be defined separately and are staged in the interplay with light, time and space for the viewer and the audience as a multi-perspectival experience. In his objects and installations he moves as a border crosser between the artistic genres of concrete, minimalist, serial painting and sculpture and lets virtuoso rhythmic spatial sounds emerge in the interplay of color, form and picture objects.

    DIRK SALZ refers to the entire tradition of abstract concrete painting and deals in his work with the various forms of human perception as well as their connection with the inadequacy of the mind. Salz questions the boundaries between painting and object with his works - whose most striking feature is probably their often highly glossy surfaces. Reflection is at play in these works in two forms: optically as the mirroring property of the picture surfaces, and reception-aesthetically as the viewer's own visual experience.

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Jürgen Paas

      Jürgen Paas creates circles, rectangles, squares, cubes and translates them into an open painting system, which surveys individual aspects such as color, form and space. Here, he combines system and order with chance and regularity, which manifests itself in an extremely varied and sensuous material painting. Wall-painted, glued and assembled different-color figurations are in dialogue with the archive systems placed on them or on top of them, made of brackets, color plates or ribbons. The interplay of regular geometrical forms suggests a rhythmic spatial sound that, in the context of synesthetic perception, brings a polyphonic overall work of art into view.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz works on paintings whose most striking feature is their high-gloss surfaces. These are the result of the use of multi-layered epoxy resins coated with pigments and the sealing with polyurethane varnish. The images of Dirk Salz always aim at the experience of the temporality of the seeing. They demand an active viewer, who takes the time to move back and forth, back and forth, before the initially closing works, in order to open up their complexity so slowly. Reflection in this work is thus in two forms in the game: optically as the mirroring property of the picture surfaces, as a reflection-aesthetic as the reflection of the viewer on his own visual experience.

Artworks of the exhibition

With works by Jürgen Paas, Dirk Salz

• Crunch Time
  • Über die Ausstellung
  • Crunch Time

    Crunch Time ist der Titel der Ausstellung, aus dem Sport entliehen, wo von allen Spielern das Beste gefordert wird, wenn es um die entscheidenden Momente, um den Einsatz größtmöglicher Energie für einen bedeutsamen Sieg geht. Jetzt auf die Kunst übertragen steht Crunchtime für einen optimistischen und intensiven Neustart.

    Die Kategorien Bild, Bildobjekt, Plastik oder Installation lassen sich in den präsentierten Kunstwerken kaum festlegen und sind im Zusammenspiel mit Licht, Zeit und Raum für den Betrachter und das Publikum als multiperspektivisches Erlebnis inszeniert.

    In JÜRGEN PAAS ' Werken lassen sich die Kategorien Bild, Bildobjekt, Plastik oder Installation kaum getrennt voneinander festlegen und sind im Zusammenspiel mit Licht, Zeit und Raum für den Betrachter und das Publikum als multiperspektivisches Erlebnis inszeniert. In seinen Objekten und Installationen bewegt er sich als Grenzgänger zwischen den künstlerischen Gattungen konkreter, minimalistischer, serieller Malerei und Skulptur und läßt im Zusammenspiel von Farbe, Form und Bildobjekten virtuose rhythmische Raumklänge entstehen.

    DIRK SALZ bezieht sich auf die gesamte Tradition der abstrakten konkreten Malerei und behandelt in seiner Arbeit die unterschiedlichen Formen der menschliche Wahrnehmung wie auch deren Zusammenhang mit der Unzulänglichkeit des Verstandes. Salz hinterfragt mit seinen Arbeiten - deren wohl auffälligstes Merkmal ihre oft hochglänzenden Oberflächen sind - die Grenzen zwischen Malerei und Objekt. Reflexion ist bei diesen Arbeiten in zweierlei Form im Spiel: optisch als die Spiegelungseigenschaft der Bildoberflächen, rezeptionsästhetisch als die eigene Seh-Erfahrung des Betrachters.

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Jürgen Paas

      Jürgen Paas schafft Kreise, Rechtecke, Quadrate, Kuben und übersetzt sie in ein offenes Malereisystem, das Einzelaspekte wie Farbe, Form und Raum befragt. Hierbei verbindet er Systematik und Ordnung mit Zufall und Regellosigkeit, die sich in einer äußerst variantenreichen und sinnlichen Materialmalerei äußert. Auf die Wand gemalte, geklebte und montierte verschiedenfarbige Figurationen stehen im Dialog mit den darauf oder daneben platzierten Archivsystemen aus Halterungen, Farbtafeln oder Farbbändern. Das Zusammenspiel regelmäßiger geometrischer Formen suggeriert einen rhythmischen Raumklang, der im Kontext synästhetischer Wahrnehmung ein polyphones Gesamtkunstwerk zur Anschauung bringt.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz arbeitet an Gemälden, deren auffälligstes Merkmal ihre hochglänzenden Oberflächen sind. Diese kommen durch den Einsatz mehrschichtig aufgetragener, mit Pigmenten versehener Epoxidharze und die Versiegelung mit Polyurethanlack zustande. Die Bilder von Dirk Salz zielen immer auf die Erfahrung der Zeitlichkeit des Sehens. Sie fordern einen aktiven Betrachter, der sich die Zeit nimmt, sich vor den sich zunächst verschließenden Arbeiten hin und her, vor und zurück zu bewegen, den Blick jeweils neu zu fokussieren, um sich so langsam ihre Komplexität zu erschließen. Reflexion ist bei diesen Arbeiten also in zweierlei Form im Spiel: optisch als die Spiegelungseigenschaft der Bildoberflächen, rezeptionsästhetisch als die Reflexion des Betrachters auf seine eigene Seh-Erfahrung.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Jürgen Paas, Dirk Salz