• About the exhibition
  • Context New York

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar's paper sculptures mostly hang, floating in the air. They seem light and delicate, however they show a strong sculptural presence. Terforation is the title of Angela Glajcar's cubic pieces. The staggered arrangement of the vertically hung series of sheets of white paper, with torn edges, produces cave-like recessions. These extend into the depth of the sculpture. The sharp ridges and deep caverns evoke associations with glacial or rock formations while light and shadow fall on the surface of the sheets, enlivening the interior of the oblong structure. The viewer is led into fascinating rooms of harmony and silence.

      Medardus

      Medardus developes his painting cycles by searching for clues in the past. For his oil paintings the artist combines motives of historical paintings or photographs with his own picture imaginations and creatures as well as with contemporary topics such as technology or aerospace. Medardus creates ambivalent, strange visual spaces, in which humans, animals and machines merge to timeless views. The artist lives and works in Switzerland.

      Roland Helmer

      Since the 60s, Roland Helmer develops his constructive and concrete work with the utmost consequence. His abstract-geometric early work shows clear forms, quiet areas and is limited to a maximum of 7 or 8 bright colors. The variety of shapes is reduced in later work on narrow and wide lines in a vertical and horizontal screen layout. The color palette expands on certain issues by blends and underpainting with white and black. In painting concrete and constructive, he is one of those designers who bring a personal picture as part of an imaging system.

      Salustiano

      The main theme of Spanish artist Salustiano is the portrait. Highly aesthetically, the artist plays with the viewer's eye which he opposes and exposes the fascinating impenetrable glances of the characters he portrayes. Often in about 60 layers of paint he is carving out the facial features of his partly androgynous protagonists acting in finest precision. These are always placed against a plain or white background and seem – devoting themselves in almost manic peculiarity to mental or physical actions - isolated from the outside world. The intellectual immersion or instinctive decisiveness and power of the portrayed persons, wether they are delicate, young girls or boys, is strongly noticeable.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marra’s abstract works remain truly fascinating due to their surprising change of form and colour. Each of his multi-perspective paintings contains several more pictures which reveal themselves by circling around the canvas. Step by step the spectator is drawn into a vivid and dynamic kaleidoscope of shape and colour. Marra’s art is a surprising experience of unique visual and dimensional effects. This painter has come to his very own style reflecting and redefining the techniques of Op-art and Orphism.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Slava Seidel

      The magical compositions by the Russian painter Slava Seidel visualize a world shifting between truth and illusion. Her sepia-ink drawings depict surreal scenes in stupendous architectural settings which create a feeling of tension, vertigo and dynamic. The artist masters to depict even the most complex architectural structures in contortion - despite the challenging ink-technique which does not allow any later corrections. Seidel’s technical precision is just as remarkable as her imaginary gift which takes us to unknown, fantastic realities.

Artworks of the exhibition

With works by Moto Waganari, Angela Glajcar, Medardus, Roland Helmer, Salustiano, Antonio Marra, Yoshiyuki Miura, Slava Seidel

• Über die Ausstellung
  • Context New York

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar verbindet Gegensätze. Ihre Papierskulpturen schweben frei im Raum oder bilden massive Blöcke. Sie wirken vom Material her leicht und zart, zeigen aber eine starke skulpturale Präsenz. Terforation nennt Angela Glajcar die Kuben aus weißen Papieren. Ihre streng geometrische Form wird aufgebrochen durch gerissene Kanten oder verschieden große Öffnungen. Durch die Staffelung der Papiere entstehen Hohlräume von einer enormen räumlichen Tiefe. Licht und Schatten machen diese lebendig. Assoziationen an gezackte Grate und das Innere tiefer Höhlen, an Gletscher- oder Felsformationen werden wach. Der Betrachter taucht ein in faszinierende Räume von vollkommener Harmonie und Ruhe.

      Medardus

      Der Künstler Medardus, der mit vollem Namen Camille Medardus Hagner heißt, entwickelt seine Gemäldezyklen mittels Spurensuche in der Vergangenheit. Für seine Ölgemälde kombiniert der Künstler Motive historischer Gemälde oder Fotografien mit eigenen Bildimaginationen und Geschöpfen sowie zeitgenössischen Themenbereichen aus Technik oder Raumfahrt. Medardus erschafft ambivalente, fremdartige Bildräume in denen Mensch, Tier und Maschine zu zeitlosen Ansichten verschmelzen. Der Maler lebt und arbeitet in der Schweiz.

      Roland Helmer

      Seit den 60er Jahren entwickelt Roland Helmer seine konstruktiv- konkreten Arbeiten mit größter Konsequenz. Sein abstrakt- geometrisches Frühwerk zeigt klare Formen, ruhige Flächen und beschränkt sich auf maximal 7 oder 8 leuchtende Farben. Die Formenvielfalt reduziert sich im Spätwerk auf schmale und breite Linien in einem senkrechten und waagrechten Bildaufbau. Die Farbpalette erweitert sich bei bestimmten Themen durch Abmischungen und Untermalungen mit weiß und schwarz.

      Salustiano

      Die Hauptthematik des spanischen Künstlers Salustiano ist das Portrait. Mit hoher ästhetischer Fertigkeit spielt der Künstler mit dem Auge des Betrachters, welchem er die faszinierend undurchdringlichen Blicke der von ihm portraitierten Charaktere gegenüberstellt und aussetzt. In oftmals über 60 Farbschichten arbeitet er die Gesichtszüge seiner teils androgyn wirkenden Protagonisten in feinster Präzision heraus. Diese sind stets vor einem einfarbigen oder weißen Hintergrund platziert und wirken - in beinahe manischer Eigenheit sich einem Vorgang geistiger oder physischer Art hingebend - von der Außenwelt getrennt und isoliert. Die mentale Versenkung oder auch instinktive Entschlossenheit und Kraft der Porträtieren, seien es auch zarte, junge Mädchen oder Buben, wird eindringlich spürbar.

      The main theme of Spanish artist Salustiano is the portrait. Highly aesthetically, the artist plays with the viewer's eye which he opposes and exposes the fascinating impenetrable glances of the characters he portrayes. Often in about 60 layers of paint he is carving out the facial features of his partly androgynous protagonists acting in finest precision. These are always placed against a plain or white background and seem – devoting themselves in almost manic peculiarity to mental or physical actions - isolated from the outside world. The intellectual immersion or instinctive decisiveness and power of the portrayed persons, wether they are delicate, young girls or boys, is strongly noticeable.

      El trabajo de Salustiano se centra ante todo en el retrato. Con un acabado extremadamente minucioso y estético, juega el artista con la propia mirada del espectador, la cual enfrenta con la penetrante casi desafiante mirada de sus retratados. Sus obras tienen de media unas 60 capas de pintura acrílica, que usa de fondo. De esta base va extrayendo con pintura al óleo los rasgos faciales de sus retratados, los cuales poseen muchas veces rasgos andróginos. El fondo monocromo, normalmente rojo, negro, blanco o rosa, hace que destaquen sus figuras dotándola de un aura genuina, aislándolas del mundo exterior. Salustiano, a su vez, juega con la mirada de sus retratados que miran muchas veces directamente al espectador, entrando en un dialogo directo con el público.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marras abstrakte Arbeiten üben durch ihren verblüffenden Wandel von Form und Farbe eine außergewöhnliche Faszination aus. Jedes seiner multi-perspektivischen Gemälde enthält stets mehrere Bilder, die sich als ein lebendiges, bewegtes Kaleidoskop mit jedem Schritt verändern. Marras Kunst wird zum überraschenden Erlebnis, indem sie uns einzigartige visuelle und räumliche Effekte erfahren lässt. Der Maler hat zu einem ganz eigenen Stil gefunden, der die Techniken von Op-Art und Orphismus reflektiert und durch neue Varianten erweitert.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Slava Seidel

      Die magischen Kompositionen der russischen Malerin Slava Seidel visualisieren eine Welt zwischen Wahrheit und Illusion. Ihre Zeichnungen in Sepiatusche zeigen surreale Szenen vor beeindruckender Architektur-Kulisse, die ein Gefühl von Schwindel, Spannung und Dynamik provozieren. Sogar in Verzerrung meistert die Künstlerin die Darstellung der komplexesten Architekturformen - trotz der anspruchsvollen Tuschetechnik, die keine späteren Korrekturen erlaubt. Seidels technische Präzision ist ebenso bemerkenswert wie ihr Talent zur Bildimagination, das uns in unbekannte, phantastische Realitäten entführt.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Moto Waganari, Angela Glajcar, Medardus, Roland Helmer, Salustiano, Antonio Marra, Yoshiyuki Miura, Slava Seidel