• CONTEXT Miami
  • About the exhibition
  • CONTEXT Miami

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Marcus Jansen

      Marcus Jansen is regarded as the inventor and pioneer of a new urban form of Expressionism. Jansen earned a reputation in the 1980s on the New York’s graffiti scene, where he met WEST ONE. Raised bilingually by his German father and his West Indian mother, Jansen went to a public school in Germany. In the late 1990s he developed his distinctive neo-expressionistic “Crossover” style, which references components of German Expressionism and Robert Rauschenberg’s “Combine Paintings.” Underlying themes in Jansen’s paintings include the traumata of the Gulf War, in which he served as a GI, and the desolate environment, which is not only beset by natural disasters, but also suffers from helpless humankind’s exposure to epochal upheavals such as 9/11 and the real estate bubble.

      Medardus

      Medardus developes his painting cycles by searching for clues in the past. For his oil paintings the artist combines motives of historical paintings or photographs with his own picture imaginations and creatures as well as with contemporary topics such as technology or aerospace. Medardus creates ambivalent, strange visual spaces, in which humans, animals and machines merge to timeless views. The artist lives and works in Switzerland.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Marck

      The video sculptures by Swiss artist MARCK are more than a simple combination of video and sculpture: They are a logic consequence of his extensive examination with films and videos, multimedia based projects, performances, music and sculptural as well as kinetic objects. The examination of humans and their world of feelings is central to MARCK's oeuvre.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz works on paintings whose most striking feature is their high-gloss surfaces. These are the result of the use of multi-layered epoxy resins coated with pigments and the sealing with polyurethane varnish. The images of Dirk Salz always aim at the experience of the temporality of the seeing. They demand an active viewer, who takes the time to move back and forth, back and forth, before the initially closing works, in order to open up their complexity so slowly. Reflection in this work is thus in two forms in the game: optically as the mirroring property of the picture surfaces, as a reflection-aesthetic as the reflection of the viewer on his own visual experience.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar's paper sculptures mostly hang, floating in the air. They seem light and delicate, however they show a strong sculptural presence. Terforation is the title of Angela Glajcar's cubic pieces. The staggered arrangement of the vertically hung series of sheets of white paper, with torn edges, produces cave-like recessions. These extend into the depth of the sculpture. The sharp ridges and deep caverns evoke associations with glacial or rock formations while light and shadow fall on the surface of the sheets, enlivening the interior of the oblong structure. The viewer is led into fascinating rooms of harmony and silence.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marra’s abstract works remain truly fascinating due to their surprising change of form and colour. Each of his multi-perspective paintings contains several more pictures which reveal themselves by circling around the canvas. Step by step the spectator is drawn into a vivid and dynamic kaleidoscope of shape and colour. Marra’s art is a surprising experience of unique visual and dimensional effects. This painter has come to his very own style reflecting and redefining the techniques of Op-art and Orphism.

• Über die Ausstellung
  • CONTEXT Miami

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Marcus Jansen

      Marcus Jansen gilt als Erfinder und Pionier eines neuen urbanen Expressionismus in der Malerei. Er begann in den 80er Jahren damit, sich in der Graffiti Szene einen Namen zu machen, wo er auf WEST ONE traf. Jansen wurde zweisprachig von seinem deutschen Vater und seiner west-indischen Mutter aufgezogen und ging in Deutschland zur Schule. In den ausgehenden 90er Jahren entwickelte er seinen unverwechselbaren neo-expressionistischen „Crossover“ Stil, der auf Elemente des deutschen
      Expressionismus zurückgreift und sich auf die amerikanischen Künstler Robert Rauschenberg und Jean-Michel Basquiat bezieht. Themen von Jansens oft großformatigen Arbeiten sind die Traumata des Golfkrieges, an dem er als GI teilnahm, die Szenarien zertrümmerter Welten nach den Katastrophen unserer Gegenwart („Aftermath“) sowie die Ausgesetztheit des Menschen - stets mit einem hoffnungsvollen Blick der Jüngeren auf eine ungewisse Zukunft.

      Medardus

      Der Künstler Medardus, der mit vollem Namen Camille Medardus Hagner heißt, entwickelt seine Gemäldezyklen mittels Spurensuche in der Vergangenheit. Für seine Ölgemälde kombiniert der Künstler Motive historischer Gemälde oder Fotografien mit eigenen Bildimaginationen und Geschöpfen sowie zeitgenössischen Themenbereichen aus Technik oder Raumfahrt. Medardus erschafft ambivalente, fremdartige Bildräume in denen Mensch, Tier und Maschine zu zeitlosen Ansichten verschmelzen. Der Maler lebt und arbeitet in der Schweiz.

      Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Marck

      Die Videoskulpturen des Schweizer Künstlers MARCK sind mehr als eine simple Kombination von Video und Skulptur: Sie sind die logische Folge einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung MARCKs mit Filmen und Videos, multimedialen Projekten, Perfomances, Musik und skulpturalen, kinetischen Objekten. Zentraler Aspekt in MARCKs Werken ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Menschen und seiner Gefühlswelt – die Suche nach einer Verknüpfung zwischen äußeren Einflüssen und inneren Zuständen.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz arbeitet an Gemälden, deren auffälligstes Merkmal ihre hochglänzenden Oberflächen sind. Diese kommen durch den Einsatz mehrschichtig aufgetragener, mit Pigmenten versehener Epoxidharze und die Versiegelung mit Polyurethanlack zustande. Die Bilder von Dirk Salz zielen immer auf die Erfahrung der Zeitlichkeit des Sehens. Sie fordern einen aktiven Betrachter, der sich die Zeit nimmt, sich vor den sich zunächst verschließenden Arbeiten hin und her, vor und zurück zu bewegen, den Blick jeweils neu zu fokussieren, um sich so langsam ihre Komplexität zu erschließen. Reflexion ist bei diesen Arbeiten also in zweierlei Form im Spiel: optisch als die Spiegelungseigenschaft der Bildoberflächen, rezeptionsästhetisch als die Reflexion des Betrachters auf seine eigene Seh-Erfahrung.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar verbindet Gegensätze. Ihre Papierskulpturen schweben frei im Raum oder bilden massive Blöcke. Sie wirken vom Material her leicht und zart, zeigen aber eine starke skulpturale Präsenz. Terforation nennt Angela Glajcar die Kuben aus weißen Papieren. Ihre streng geometrische Form wird aufgebrochen durch gerissene Kanten oder verschieden große Öffnungen. Durch die Staffelung der Papiere entstehen Hohlräume von einer enormen räumlichen Tiefe. Licht und Schatten machen diese lebendig. Assoziationen an gezackte Grate und das Innere tiefer Höhlen, an Gletscher- oder Felsformationen werden wach. Der Betrachter taucht ein in faszinierende Räume von vollkommener Harmonie und Ruhe.

      Antonio Marra

      Antonio Marras abstrakte Arbeiten üben durch ihren verblüffenden Wandel von Form und Farbe eine außergewöhnliche Faszination aus. Jedes seiner multi-perspektivischen Gemälde enthält stets mehrere Bilder, die sich als ein lebendiges, bewegtes Kaleidoskop mit jedem Schritt verändern. Marras Kunst wird zum überraschenden Erlebnis, indem sie uns einzigartige visuelle und räumliche Effekte erfahren lässt. Der Maler hat zu einem ganz eigenen Stil gefunden, der die Techniken von Op-Art und Orphismus reflektiert und durch neue Varianten erweitert.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Marcus Jansen, Medardus, Moto Waganari, Marck, Yoshiyuki Miura, Dirk Salz, Angela Glajcar, Antonio Marra