• art KARLSRUHE
    art KARLSRUHE
  • About the exhibition
  • art KARLSRUHE

    The Heitsch Gallery will be present at this year's art KARLSRUHE with a special selection of artists.

    One-artist show
    UDO NÖGER

    Heitsch Gallery | art KARLSRUHE
    21st - 24th February 2019, 11am to 7pm
    Stand A12, Hall II

    PREVIEW
    February 20, 2019, 2 to 9 pm

    Address | Messe Karlsruhe
    Messeallee 1
    D-76287 Rheinstetten
    Germany

    Further information on access and tickets can be found at www.art-karlsruhe.de.

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar's paper sculptures mostly hang, floating in the air. They seem light and delicate, however they show a strong sculptural presence. Terforation is the title of Angela Glajcar's cubic pieces. The staggered arrangement of the vertically hung series of sheets of white paper, with torn edges, produces cave-like recessions. These extend into the depth of the sculpture. The sharp ridges and deep caverns evoke associations with glacial or rock formations while light and shadow fall on the surface of the sheets, enlivening the interior of the oblong structure. The viewer is led into fascinating rooms of harmony and silence.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Henning von Gierke

      The well-renowned Munich based artist Henning von Gierke has long since caught the attention of an international audience which has been intrigued by his realistic painting. In his works von Gierke questions our existence in the context of nature, religion and philosophy. His rich oeuvre consists of classic topics deriving from Greek mythology and Christianity just like portraits, still lifes or interiors. Not only as a painter but also as an opera-director and stage designer von Gierke is much asked for. For his film settings he has been awarded the highly respected „Deutscher Filmpreis“ in Gold and the „Silberner Bär“.

      Udo Nöger

      Udo Nöger attended Fachhochschule, Bielefeld University, and has studied in Paderborn, Berlin and Spain. Thanks to winning Nixdorf Grant, he spent some time in the early 90’s in New York, NY and Denver, CO.

      Nöger aims to bring out the luminescence of paint in his practice. The artist is known for monochromatic gray works that give the impression of emitting light. Nöger achieves this effect by stretching multiple pieces of fabric or canvas onto one frame; he either paints on or cuts shapes into the different layers beforehand. As a result, the work appears lighter and more transparent in certain parts. Nöger has also been known to paint on the underside of the fabric, and to use materials of varying thickness and opacity.

      Udo Nöger’s paintings, which appear at first glance to be gestural Abstract Expressionism transmuted to a subtle, luminous palette of pale silvery grays, whites and off-whites, change as the viewer moves in and out or changes the angle of view, as well as the level and quality of light falling on and reflected back from the works. The scumbled surfaces and tubular forms (which look airbrushed, but are not) change in sharpness (and thus implied depth) and even color. The wall color may be visible, and possibly also the floor; it’s difficult to decipher how these works operate. With their abstract illusionism perfectly calibrated, they’re spatially ambiguous.

      Marc Fromm

      Marc Fromm‘s carved reliefs and sculptures refelct the values of our every day culture. The artist introduces contemporary topics using the elaborate techniques of old mastery wood craft. Traditional religious altar scenes are reinterpreted as modern billboards just like former religious assurance is replaced by the promised land of advertising. Marc Fromm reveals the stereotypes of the advertisement industry and unmasks the fake glamour of today‘s commercialized products.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz works on paintings whose most striking feature is their high-gloss surfaces. These are the result of the use of multi-layered epoxy resins coated with pigments and the sealing with polyurethane varnish. The images of Dirk Salz always aim at the experience of the temporality of the seeing. They demand an active viewer, who takes the time to move back and forth, back and forth, before the initially closing works, in order to open up their complexity so slowly. Reflection in this work is thus in two forms in the game: optically as the mirroring property of the picture surfaces, as a reflection-aesthetic as the reflection of the viewer on his own visual experience.

      Stefan Szczesny

      Stefan Szczesny, who became known in the 1980s as a protagonist of the Neue Wilde (New Wild) movement in painting, is now among Germany's most significant contemporary artists. Although he is primarily a painter, he also develops domains such as graphic design, sculpture, photography, stage design fashion and design. One very important area is his ceramic oeuvre, which comprises some 4000 works. Born in Munich, he lives and works in Saint Tropez, but also has a studio in Berlin.
      The natural and cultural landscape that surrounds his chosen place of residence is a never-ending source of inspiration for Stefan Szczesny. Living in the midst of idyllic nature, with a view of the deep-blue sea and sun-flooded vineyards, Szczesny has developed the credo of a radical optimist: "The world is beautiful. Enjoy it with all your senses while you have the time to do so!"
      The sensuality and joy, which are the direct result of Stefan Szczesny's close bond with nature, are major elements in all his works and are expressed in countless images of bliss on earth, full of purity and beauty of creation. His steel shadow sculptures are easily accessible: moving female nudes carrying fruits, which remind the spectator of Eve, the epitome of sensuality and symbol of paradise lost.

      Slava Seidel

      The magical compositions by the Russian painter Slava Seidel visualize a world shifting between truth and illusion. Her sepia-ink drawings depict surreal scenes in stupendous architectural settings which create a feeling of tension, vertigo and dynamic. The artist masters to depict even the most complex architectural structures in contortion - despite the challenging ink-technique which does not allow any later corrections. Seidel’s technical precision is just as remarkable as her imaginary gift which takes us to unknown, fantastic realities.

      Marck

      The video sculptures by Swiss artist MARCK are more than a simple combination of video and sculpture: They are a logic consequence of his extensive examination with films and videos, multimedia based projects, performances, music and sculptural as well as kinetic objects. The examination of humans and their world of feelings is central to MARCK's oeuvre.

Artworks of the exhibition

With works by Angela Glajcar, Moto Waganari, Henning von Gierke, Udo Nöger, Marc Fromm, Yoshiyuki Miura, Dirk Salz, Stefan Szczesny, Slava Seidel, Marck

• art KARLSRUHE
    art KARLSRUHE
  • Über die Ausstellung
  • art KARLSRUHE

    Die Heitsch Gallery wird diesen Februar wieder mit ausgewählten Künstlerpositionen auf der art KARLSRUHE vertreten sein.

    One-Artist-Show
    UDO NÖGER

    Heitsch Gallery | art KARLSRUHE
    21. - 24. Februar 2019, 11 bis 19 Uhr
    Stand A12, Halle II

    PREVIEW
    20. Februar 2019, 14 bis 21 Uhr

    Anschrift | Messe Karlsruhe
    Messeallee 1
    D-76287 Rheinstetten
    Deutschland

    Weitere Informationen zu Anfahrt & Tickets finden Sie unter www.art-karlsruhe.de.

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar verbindet Gegensätze. Ihre Papierskulpturen schweben frei im Raum oder bilden massive Blöcke. Sie wirken vom Material her leicht und zart, zeigen aber eine starke skulpturale Präsenz. Terforation nennt Angela Glajcar die Kuben aus weißen Papieren. Ihre streng geometrische Form wird aufgebrochen durch gerissene Kanten oder verschieden große Öffnungen. Durch die Staffelung der Papiere entstehen Hohlräume von einer enormen räumlichen Tiefe. Licht und Schatten machen diese lebendig. Assoziationen an gezackte Grate und das Innere tiefer Höhlen, an Gletscher- oder Felsformationen werden wach. Der Betrachter taucht ein in faszinierende Räume von vollkommener Harmonie und Ruhe.

      Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Henning von Gierke

      Seit Jahren begeistert der Münchner Maler Henning von Gierke ein internationales Publikum mit seiner realistischen Malweise. Er hinterfragt in seinen Arbeiten unser Dasein im Kontext von Natur, Religion und Philosophie. Die klassischen Themen der Mythologie, des Christentums und der Religionen gehören ebenso zu seinem umfangreichen Oeuvre wie Portraits, Stillleben oder Interieurs. Nicht nur als Maler, auch als Regisseur und Bühnenbildner ist von Gierke weltweit gefragt. Für seine Filmausstattungen wurde er mit dem deutschen Filmpreis in Gold und dem silbernen Bären ausgezeichnet.

      Udo Nöger

      Nögers Ziel ist es, die Lumineszenz von Farbe zu zeigen. Er ist bekannt für seine monochromatischen grauen Arbeiten, die erscheinen, als würden sie selbst Licht ausstrahlen. Nöger erreicht diesen Effekt, indem er mehrere Bahnen Stoff oder Leinwand auf einen Rahmen spannt, die wiederum vorher bemalt oder beschnitten wurden. Deshalb wirken die Arbeiten an manchen Stellen lichtdurchlässiger als an anderen. Nöger ist auch dafür bekannt, die Stoffunterseite zu bemalen und Materialien unterschiedlicher Stärke und Opakheit zu verwenden.

      Udo Nögers Gemälde, auf den ersten Blick ein gestischer Abstrakter Expressionismus, der in eine subtilere, leuchtende Palette blasser Silber- und Grautöne, Weiß und gebrochenes Weiß übergeht, verändern sich wenn der Beschauer seinen Standpunkt vor ihnen ändert sowie bei wechselndem Lichteinfall.

      Udo Nöger besuchte die Fachhochschule Bielefeld und studierte anschließend in Paderborn, Berlin und Spanien. Als Stipendiat des Heinz Nixdorf Instituts verweilte er u.a. in New York, NY und Denver, CO.

      Marc Fromm

      Marc Fromms geschnitzte Reliefbilder und Skulpturen reflektieren Ausschnitte unserer täglichen Gegenwartskultur. Dabei setzt er sich mit den Werten und Qualitäten unserer Zeit
      auseinander. Der Künstler verarbeitet zeitgenössische Motive mit der Technik und Brillianz traditioneller, altmeisterlicher Schnitzkunst. Kirchliche Altartafeln deutet er zu modernen Werbetafeln um und ersetzt die religiösen Verheißungen durch die Versprechungen der Hochglanzmagazine. Marc Fromm thematisiert den heiligen Schein der Konsumwelt und demaskiert die Werbe-Klischees unserer Zeit.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Dirk Salz

      Dirk Salz arbeitet an Gemälden, deren auffälligstes Merkmal ihre hochglänzenden Oberflächen sind. Diese kommen durch den Einsatz mehrschichtig aufgetragener, mit Pigmenten versehener Epoxidharze und die Versiegelung mit Polyurethanlack zustande. Die Bilder von Dirk Salz zielen immer auf die Erfahrung der Zeitlichkeit des Sehens. Sie fordern einen aktiven Betrachter, der sich die Zeit nimmt, sich vor den sich zunächst verschließenden Arbeiten hin und her, vor und zurück zu bewegen, den Blick jeweils neu zu fokussieren, um sich so langsam ihre Komplexität zu erschließen. Reflexion ist bei diesen Arbeiten also in zweierlei Form im Spiel: optisch als die Spiegelungseigenschaft der Bildoberflächen, rezeptionsästhetisch als die Reflexion des Betrachters auf seine eigene Seh-Erfahrung.

      Stefan Szczesny

      Stefan Szczesny, in den 1980er Jahren als Protagonist der Neuen Wilden Malerei bekannt geworden, zählt heute zu den bedeutendsten zeitgenössischen Künstlern in Deutschland. Er ist vor allem Maler, erschließt sich aber auch Felder wie Grafik, Skulptur, Fotografie, Mode und Design. Von großer Bedeutung ist sein keramisches Werk, das etwa 4000 Arbeiten umfasst. Der gebürtige Münchner lebt und arbeitet in Saint Tropez, außerdem unterhält er ein Atelier in Berlin.
      Die umliegende Natur- und Kulturlandschaft seiner Wahlheimat ist für Stefan Szczesny eine nie versiegende Quelle der Inspiration. Inmitten der idyllischen Natur, mit Blick auf tiefblaues Meer und sonnenüberflutete Weinfelder hat Stefan Szczesny das Credo eines Radikal-Optimisten entwickelt: "Die Welt ist schön. Genießt sie mit allen Sinnen, solange ihr noch Zeit dazu habt!"
      Die sinnenfrohe Heiterkeit, die von Stefan Szczesnys enger Beziehung zur Natur gespeist wird, prägt die Arbeit des Künstlers und findet ihren Ausdruck in unzähligen diesseitigen Glücksbildern, die erfüllt sind von der Reinheit und Schönheit der Schöpfung. Seine stählernen Schattenskulpturen sind leicht zugänglich: bewegte Frauenakte mit Früchten, die an Darstellungen der Eva denken lassen, als Sinnbild der Sinnlichkeit und Symbol für das verlorene Paradies.

      Slava Seidel

      Die magischen Kompositionen der russischen Malerin Slava Seidel visualisieren eine Welt zwischen Wahrheit und Illusion. Ihre Zeichnungen in Sepiatusche zeigen surreale Szenen vor beeindruckender Architektur-Kulisse, die ein Gefühl von Schwindel, Spannung und Dynamik provozieren. Sogar in Verzerrung meistert die Künstlerin die Darstellung der komplexesten Architekturformen - trotz der anspruchsvollen Tuschetechnik, die keine späteren Korrekturen erlaubt. Seidels technische Präzision ist ebenso bemerkenswert wie ihr Talent zur Bildimagination, das uns in unbekannte, phantastische Realitäten entführt.

      Marck

      Die Videoskulpturen des Schweizer Künstlers MARCK sind mehr als eine simple Kombination von Video und Skulptur: Sie sind die logische Folge einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung MARCKs mit Filmen und Videos, multimedialen Projekten, Perfomances, Musik und skulpturalen, kinetischen Objekten. Zentraler Aspekt in MARCKs Werken ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Menschen und seiner Gefühlswelt – die Suche nach einer Verknüpfung zwischen äußeren Einflüssen und inneren Zuständen.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Angela Glajcar, Moto Waganari, Henning von Gierke, Udo Nöger, Marc Fromm, Yoshiyuki Miura, Dirk Salz, Stefan Szczesny, Slava Seidel, Marck