• Art Karlsruhe
  • About the exhibition
  • Art Karlsruhe

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar's paper sculptures mostly hang, floating in the air. They seem light and delicate, however they show a strong sculptural presence. Terforation is the title of Angela Glajcar's cubic pieces. The staggered arrangement of the vertically hung series of sheets of white paper, with torn edges, produces cave-like recessions. These extend into the depth of the sculpture. The sharp ridges and deep caverns evoke associations with glacial or rock formations while light and shadow fall on the surface of the sheets, enlivening the interior of the oblong structure. The viewer is led into fascinating rooms of harmony and silence.

      Marco Casentini

      Marco Casentini explores in his work spatial dynamics of color, texture and shape. He is inspired by designs of urban space and reflects geometrical and architectural questions. By decoding environments and urban structures that he perceives immediately, he deconstructs and interprets designs of architects, engineers and town planners. Casentinis use of radiant, bright or strong colors is stimulated by southern Californian or Mexican paintings of houses and dematerializes their architectural surfaces.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

      Slava Seidel

      The magical compositions by the Russian painter Slava Seidel visualize a world shifting between truth and illusion. Her sepia-ink drawings depict surreal scenes in stupendous architectural settings which create a feeling of tension, vertigo and dynamic. The artist masters to depict even the most complex architectural structures in contortion - despite the challenging ink-technique which does not allow any later corrections. Seidel’s technical precision is just as remarkable as her imaginary gift which takes us to unknown, fantastic realities.

      Henning von Gierke

      For many years now, renowned Munich-based artist Henning von Gierke has been fascinating his public with his realistic style of painting. In his works, the artist questions human existence in the context of nature, religion and philosophy. Besides classical themes from Greek mythology and religious imagery, von Gierke also paints portraits, still-lives and domestic themes within his extensive artistic oeuvre. Beyond creating astonishing pictures on canvas, he is also well known as a stage-designer and director worldwide. For his creative impact in the film industry, he received two of the most acclaimed film awards in Germany - the German Movie Award in Gold and the Silver Bear at the Berlinale.

Artworks of the exhibition

With works by Yoshiyuki Miura, Angela Glajcar, Marco Casentini, Moto Waganari, Slava Seidel, Henning von Gierke

• Art Karlsruhe
  • Über die Ausstellung
  • Art Karlsruhe

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Angela Glajcar

      Angela Glajcar verbindet Gegensätze. Ihre Papierskulpturen schweben frei im Raum oder bilden massive Blöcke. Sie wirken vom Material her leicht und zart, zeigen aber eine starke skulpturale Präsenz. Terforation nennt Angela Glajcar die Kuben aus weißen Papieren. Ihre streng geometrische Form wird aufgebrochen durch gerissene Kanten oder verschieden große Öffnungen. Durch die Staffelung der Papiere entstehen Hohlräume von einer enormen räumlichen Tiefe. Licht und Schatten machen diese lebendig. Assoziationen an gezackte Grate und das Innere tiefer Höhlen, an Gletscher- oder Felsformationen werden wach. Der Betrachter taucht ein in faszinierende Räume von vollkommener Harmonie und Ruhe.

      Marco Casentini

      Marco Casentini erkundet in seiner Arbeit räumliche Dynamiken von Farbe, Textur und Form. Seine von der Gestaltung des städtischen Raums inspirierten Werke spiegeln sein Interesse an Geometrie sowie Architektur und eröffnen dem Betrachter mit ihrer leuchtenden, hellen Farbpalette die Stimmung der lebendigen Häuseranstriche Südkaliforniens und Mexikos. Er dekodiert die architektonischen Oberflächen und das, was er unmittelbar wahrnimmt – das kann zum Beispiel eine Achterbahn sein –, indem er die Entwürfe von ArchitektInnen, IngenieurInnen und StadtplanerInnen dekonstruiert und neu interpretiert. Monochromatische Werke, die Casentini aus seinen europäischen Erfahrungen generiert, weisen dunklere Farben mit ihren Variationen im Farbton auf.

      Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

      Slava Seidel

      Die magischen Kompositionen der russischen Malerin Slava Seidel visualisieren eine Welt zwischen Wahrheit und Illusion. Ihre Zeichnungen in Sepiatusche zeigen surreale Szenen vor beeindruckender Architektur-Kulisse, die ein Gefühl von Schwindel, Spannung und Dynamik provozieren. Sogar in Verzerrung meistert die Künstlerin die Darstellung der komplexesten Architekturformen - trotz der anspruchsvollen Tuschetechnik, die keine späteren Korrekturen erlaubt. Seidels technische Präzision ist ebenso bemerkenswert wie ihr Talent zur Bildimagination, das uns in unbekannte, phantastische Realitäten entführt.

      Henning von Gierke

      Seit Jahren begeistert der Münchner Maler Henning von Gierke ein internationales Publikum mit seiner realistischen Malweise. Er hinterfragt in seinen Arbeiten unser Dasein im Kontext von Natur, Religion und Philosophie. Die klassischen Themen der Mythologie, des Christentums und der Religionen gehören ebenso zu seinem umfangreichen Oeuvre wie Portraits, Stillleben oder Interieurs. Nicht nur als Maler, auch als Regisseur und Bühnenbildner ist von Gierke weltweit gefragt. Für seine Filmausstattungen wurde er mit dem deutschen Filmpreis in Gold und dem silbernen Bären ausgezeichnet.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Yoshiyuki Miura, Angela Glajcar, Marco Casentini, Moto Waganari, Slava Seidel, Henning von Gierke