• Art Karlsruhe 2013
  • About the exhibition
  • Art Karlsruhe 2013

    • Artists of the exhibition 
    • Anke Eilergerhard

      Anke Eilergerhard masters the art of seduction. From silicone she creates cake-like sculptures which bewitch our senses with their voluptuous shapes and creamy surfaces. With her baroque KITCHENPLASTICS the Berlin-based artist questions clichés on femininity and occupies an unique artistic position.

      Henning von Gierke

      For many years now, renowned Munich-based artist Henning von Gierke has been fascinating his public with his realistic style of painting. In his works, the artist questions human existence in the context of nature, religion and philosophy. Besides classical themes from Greek mythology and religious imagery, von Gierke also paints portraits, still-lives and domestic themes within his extensive artistic oeuvre. Beyond creating astonishing pictures on canvas, he is also well known as a stage-designer and director worldwide. For his creative impact in the film industry, he received two of the most acclaimed film awards in Germany - the German Movie Award in Gold and the Silver Bear at the Berlinale.

      Medardus

      Medardus developes his painting cycles by searching for clues in the past. For his oil paintings the artist combines motives of historical paintings or photographs with his own picture imaginations and creatures as well as with contemporary topics such as technology or aerospace. Medardus creates ambivalent, strange visual spaces, in which humans, animals and machines merge to timeless views. The artist lives and works in Switzerland.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miura’s works may be considered a systematizing regulation to the omnipresent chaos. With his sculptures and installations the Japanese artist reflects the relation of space and time. He leads force and counterforce in order to bring them into balanced state of tension and release. Miura creates objects which play with our perception of three-dimensionality and intrigue us by their extraordinary simplicity, precision and beauty.

      Slava Seidel

      The magical compositions by the Russian painter Slava Seidel visualize a world shifting between truth and illusion. Her sepia-ink drawings depict surreal scenes in stupendous architectural settings which create a feeling of tension, vertigo and dynamic. The artist masters to depict even the most complex architectural structures in contortion - despite the challenging ink-technique which does not allow any later corrections. Seidel’s technical precision is just as remarkable as her imaginary gift which takes us to unknown, fantastic realities.

      Jorge Villalba

      Jorge Villalba’s intriguing hyperrealism and the exquisite perfection of technique constitute only the very first phase of aesthetic admiration of his art. Soon the focus is shifting to his ingenious modern interpretation of traditional mythological and biblical topics which demand deeper contemplation. By creating new prototypes the Spanish painter manages to reinvent the classic stories of art history. His art remains universal as it poses the eternal questions of life and humanity.

      Moto Waganari

      Moto Waganari creates transparent network-sculptures which outline a delicate body frame. By illuminating his sculptures the artists multiplies his three dimensional objects by a two dimensional shadow revealing the immaterial alter ego of every figure. His characters seem to visualize a surreal, parallel world filled with surprise and enigma. Moto Waganari’s sculptures seduce the spectator with their appealing beauty and sophisticated weightlessness.

• Über die Ausstellung
  • Art Karlsruhe 2013

    • Künstler der Ausstellung 
    • Anke Eilergerhard

      Anke Eilergerhard versteht es mit ihren fantastisch, absurden KITCHENPLASTICS unsere Seh-, Tast- und Geschmackssinne auf irritierende Art zu erregen. Die Berliner Künstlerin hinterfragt mit ihren üppigen Silikon-Objekten weibliche Klischees und besetzt mit ihren puristisch barocken Figuren eine einzigartige künstlerische Position. Ihre Werke springen ob ihrer waghalsigen Kompositionen oder ihrer taktil- und oft farbintensiv ausgestalteten Oberflächen sofort ins Auge. Denn ihr Thema ist Schönheit und alles was mit diesem höchst fragilen Phänomen assoziiert wird - Begierde, Liebe, Luxus, Übermaß, Verfall, Lust, Maßlosigkeit und Täuschung.

      Anke Eilergerhard masters the art of seduction. From silicone she creates cake-like sculptures which bewitch our senses with their voluptuous shapes and creamy surfaces. With her baroque KITCHENPLASTICS the Berlin-based artist questions clichés on femininity and occupies an unique artistic position.

      Henning von Gierke

      Seit Jahren begeistert der Münchner Maler Henning von Gierke ein internationales Publikum mit seiner realistischen Malweise. Er hinterfragt in seinen Arbeiten unser Dasein im Kontext von Natur, Religion und Philosophie. Die klassischen Themen der Mythologie, des Christentums und der Religionen gehören ebenso zu seinem umfangreichen Oeuvre wie Portraits, Stillleben oder Interieurs. Nicht nur als Maler, auch als Regisseur und Bühnenbildner ist von Gierke weltweit gefragt. Für seine Filmausstattungen wurde er mit dem deutschen Filmpreis in Gold und dem silbernen Bären ausgezeichnet.

      Medardus

      Der Künstler Medardus, der mit vollem Namen Camille Medardus Hagner heißt, entwickelt seine Gemäldezyklen mittels Spurensuche in der Vergangenheit. Für seine Ölgemälde kombiniert der Künstler Motive historischer Gemälde oder Fotografien mit eigenen Bildimaginationen und Geschöpfen sowie zeitgenössischen Themenbereichen aus Technik oder Raumfahrt. Medardus erschafft ambivalente, fremdartige Bildräume in denen Mensch, Tier und Maschine zu zeitlosen Ansichten verschmelzen. Der Maler lebt und arbeitet in der Schweiz.

      Yoshiyuki Miura

      Yoshiyuki Miuras Werke lassen sich als ordnender Eingriff in das allgegenwärtige Chaos begreifen. In seinen Skulpturen und Rauminstallationen reflektiert der japanische Künstler das Verhältnis von Raum und Zeit. Er lotet Kraft und Gegenkraft aus und bringt sie in einen harmonischen Zustand von Spannung und Ausgleich. Miura kreiert Objekte, die sich durch eine außergewöhnliche Ästhetik, Einfachheit und Präzision auszeichnen und die mit der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität spielen.

      Slava Seidel

      Die magischen Kompositionen der russischen Malerin Slava Seidel visualisieren eine Welt zwischen Wahrheit und Illusion. Ihre Zeichnungen in Sepiatusche zeigen surreale Szenen vor beeindruckender Architektur-Kulisse, die ein Gefühl von Schwindel, Spannung und Dynamik provozieren. Sogar in Verzerrung meistert die Künstlerin die Darstellung der komplexesten Architekturformen - trotz der anspruchsvollen Tuschetechnik, die keine späteren Korrekturen erlaubt. Seidels technische Präzision ist ebenso bemerkenswert wie ihr Talent zur Bildimagination, das uns in unbekannte, phantastische Realitäten entführt.

      Jorge Villalba

      Jorge Villalbas fesselnder Hyperrealismus und die altmeisterliche Perfektion seiner Maltechnik stellen nur die Phase einer ästhetischen Bewunderung seiner Kunst dar. Das Augenmerk richtet sich bald auf die Genialität seiner modernen Interpretationen von mythologischen und biblischen Themen, die eine tiefere Auseinandersetzung provozieren. Dem spanischen Maler gelingt es, die Kunstgeschichte neu zu erfinden, indem er bislang ungesehene Prototypen kreiert. Seine Kunst bleibt universell, da sie die unvergänglichen Fragen des Lebens und des Menschseins stellt.

      Jorge Villalba’s intriguing hyperrealism and the exquisite perfection of technique constitute only the very first phase of aesthetic admiration of his art. Soon the focus is shifting to his ingenious modern interpretation of traditional mythological and biblical topics which demand deeper contemplation. By creating new prototypes the Spanish painter manages to reinvent the classic stories of art history. His art remains universal as it poses the eternal questions of life and humanity.

      Moto Waganari

      Lutz Wagner aka Moto Waganari entwirft transparente Gitternetz-Skulpturen, die sich als schwerelose Körperhüllen vor dem Auge des Betrachters abzeichnen. Inszeniert als Lichtinstallationen werden die dreidimensionalen Figuren um ein zweidimensionales Schattenbild erweitert und erhalten ein immaterielles Alter Ego. Seine Wesen visualisieren eine surreale Parallelwelt, die voller Rätsel und Überraschungen steckt. Moto Waganaris raffinierte Kunstwerke bestechen durch formale Schönheit und filigrane Leichtigkeit.

Kunstwerke der Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Anke Eilergerhard, Henning von Gierke, Medardus, Yoshiyuki Miura, Slava Seidel, Jorge Villalba, Moto Waganari